Tuesday morning’s verdict from the Court of Arbitration for Sport has thrown into the question the legitimacy of Jobe Watson’s 2012 Brownlow Medal.

Watson, along with 33 other past and present Essendon players were found guilty of taking banned substance Thymosin Beta-4 during the 2012 AFL season, the year in which Watson won the highest individual honour in the game.

No matter how sorry anyone feels for Watson and the rest of the playing group, at the end of the day, the the Essendon captain MUST be stripped of his Brownlow.

He has now been found guilty of drug cheating and in order for the game to keep anything remotely resembling credibility after this long, drawn out saga, the medal must be taken away from Jobe.

SEE ALSO:  Lyon: Pies cloning Richmond

If that happens, Sam Mitchell and Trent Cotchin, who finished equal second in the count on 26 votes, should be awarded the joint winners of the 2012 Brownlow Medal.

2012 Brownlow Medal

1. Jobe Watson (30)* Likely to be ruled ineligible
2. Sam Mitchell (26)
Trent Cotchin (26)
4. Scott Thompson (25)
Dane Swan (25)
6. Gary Ablett (24)
7. Patrick Dangerfield (23)
8. Josh Kennedy (19)
Lenny Hayes (19)
Dayne Beams (19)
11. Matthew Pavlich (15)
Kieren Jack (15)
Scott Selwood (15)
Scott Pendlebury (15)