After Round 1 of the 2023 season, four players tie for the first spot in this year's AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year with maximum votes.

Two of those players, Luke Davies-Uniacke and Chad Warner, are young guns primed for breakout years. In dominant displays, both midfielders used their explosiveness to lead their sides to an opening-round win.

Jordan De Goey thrilled in a 25-disposal, three-goal performance, while Daniel Rioli also earned ten votes with his stellar run-off half-back.

Another young star, Jason Horne-Francis, finds himself near the top of the list with nine votes in Port Adelaide's surprise win over Brisbane.

Kysaiah Pickett and Jake Lever also received nine coaches' votes from Melbourne's impressive victory over the Bulldogs.

With a set of new names top of the list, last year's veteran performers struggled to poll in the first round.

PERTH, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 20: Touk Miller of the Suns kicks on goal during the 2022 AFL Round 01 match between the West Coast Eagles and the Gold Coast Suns at Optus Stadium on March 20, 2022 In Perth, Australia. (Photo by Will Russell/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

Last year's joint winner Touk Miller failed to earn a vote, as the Gold Coast Suns were overrun by the Swan's young midfield, while Clayton Oliver won just two votes.

Brownlow Medallist Patrick Cripps carried the burden of the Blues midfield but was overlooked in favour of George Hewitt, Dion Prestia, and Tim Taranto.

With only one Round played in season 2023, the old guard has an abundance of time to catch the AFL's young stars.

Position Votes Player
1st 10 Luke Davies-Uniacke
10 Jordan DeGoey
10 Daniel Rioli
10 Chad Warner
2nd 9 Toby Green
9 Jason Horne-Francis
9 Jake Lever
9 Kysaiah Pickett
3rd 8 Stephen Coniglio
8 Nick Larkey
8 Darcy Parish
8 Archie Perkins