Tom Campbell of the Bulldogs and Todd Goldstein of the Kangaroos compete for the ball during the round six AFL match between the North Melbourne Kangaroos and the Western Bulldogs at Etihad Stadium on April 29, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Bulldogs ruckman Tom Campbell signs two-year contract extension

Western Bulldogs ruckman Tom Campbell has signed a two-year contract extension, keeping him at Whitten Oval until the end of 2018.

The 24-year-old was restricted to nine senior games in 2016, with a stress fracture in his heel sidelining him for most of the second half of the season.

Top Stories

Campbell, who averaged 20 hitouts and 11 disposals this season, said he is delighted to re-sign with the club.

“I’m really excited to re-sign, the group is doing some really exciting things at the moment.

“There is great energy around the Club and to be part of it for the next two years is great.”

He was recruited with pick No. 27 in the 2012 rookie draft.

Western Bulldogs 2017 Player Movements

2017 Gains: Travis Cloke (Collingwood Magpies, 2017), Timothy English (2020), Fergus Greene (2018), Patrick Lipinski (2018), Nathan Mullenger-McHugh (2017), Tristan Tweedie (2017), Lewis Young (2018)
2017 Losses: Jed Adcock (retired), Luke Goetz (delisted), Joel Hamling (Fremantle Dockers), Nathan Hrovat (North Melbourne Kangaroos), Koby Stevens (St Kilda Saints)
Re-Signed: Shane Biggs (2018), Matthew Boyd (2017), Tom Campbell (2018), Tory Dickson (2018), Lachie Hunter (2019), Lin Jong (2018), Toby McLean (2019), Dale Morris (2017), Robert Murphy (2017), Jack Redpath (2017)
Off Contract 2017: Marcus Adams, Matthew Boyd, Travis Cloke, Kieran Collins, Stewart Crameri, Bailey Dale, Declan Hamilton, Mitch Honeychurch, Jason Johannisen, Brad Lynch, Jack Macrae, Dale Morris, Nathan Mullenger-McHugh, Robert Murphy, Jack Redpath, Fletcher Roberts, Clay Smith, Jake Stringer, Tristan Tweedie, Lukas Webb, Bailey Williams