MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 11: Joel Selwood (left) and Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats celebrate during the 2016 AFL Round 12 match between the Geelong Cats and the North Melbourne Kangaroos at Etihad Stadium on June 11, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media/Getty Images)

40-man All-Australian squad announced

The AFL has announced the preliminary 40-man All-Australian squad.

Adelaide has the most representations with six players named in the squad, while Sydney and GWS have five each.

Other Sports News

Brisbane and Essendon are the only clubs not represented.

TheΒ final 22-man squad will be announced on Thursday, September 1st.

The selection panel consists of Gillon McLachlan, Kevin Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Mark Evans, Danny Frawley, Glen Jakovich, Cameron Ling, Matthew Richardson and Warren Tredrea.

Full squad:

Adelaide: Eddie Betts, Josh Jenkins, Rory Laird, Tom Lynch, Rory Sloane, Daniel Talia
Carlton: Sam Docherty, Kade Simpson
Collingwood: Scott Pendlebury, Adam Treloar
Fremantle: Lachie Neale
Geelong: Patrick Dangerfield, Corey Enright, Joel Selwood
Gold Coast: Tom Lynch
GWS: Stephen Coniglio, Toby Greene, Tom Scully, Heath Shaw, Callan Ward
Hawthorn: Jack Gunston, Sam Mitchell, Cyril Rioli
Melbourne: Max Gawn
North Melbourne: Robbie Tarrant
Port Adelaide: Jasper Pittard
Richmond: Dustin Martin, Alex Rance
St Kilda: Jack Steven
Sydney: Lance Franklin, Dan Hannebery, Josh Kennedy, Luke Parker, Dane Rampe
West Coast: Andrew Gaff, Josh Kennedy, Jeremy McGovern, Luke Shuey
Western Bulldogs: Marcus Bontempelli, Matthew Boyd


More From Our Network

You Might Also Like


  1. No Zac Merrett? Are they serious? If he didn’t play for the bottom side he’d be a chance for the Brownlow. He’s been Essendons best player nearly every single week.

  2. Cripps no.1 for clearences by streets and no.2 for contested ball…. and missed 2 games πŸ–’ may not have been worthy of the AA this year but he will be a shoein next year

    • 5th in the Coleman does not grant you auto admission into this group. Besides his goals, he has no other impact to the game. Overrated.
      Rioli? Seriously. He’s 76th for Score Involvements and 63rd for Goal Assists. Not what I’d be hoping for from “2nd best small forward”!

    • You ever even seen Enright play a game, Craig-Joanna???

      Also, sharing an account with your missus is the single worst thing on earth. I wouldn’t be posting publicly if I was you.

    • Doesn’t affect me at all. Just pointing it out, so you can avoid public humiliation in the future.

      Well, perhaps go back and watch all of Geelong’s games from this year again, because I think you’ll find he most definitely has deserved it. πŸ‘ŒπŸΌ

  3. Well deserved Jack Steven ! you had a brilliant year and had to overcome really close tagging , you earned your spot… but no Roo !? The skipper took more marks than anyone in the league by 60 !, many contested . Kicked 40 goals from the wing / forward… yet he was overlooked and instead Tom Lynch from Adelaide got a gig ?…. give us a break, really.

  4. Cripps breaks clearance record doesn’t get in the squad? Pendles year was average compared to his other years getting a lot of half back touches when injured. Toby Greene and Scully? Nick Riewoldt stiff too. James Simpson Troy Tremayne

Comments are closed.