SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 12: Dane Rampe of the Swans looks to team mates during the round 21 AFL match between the Sydney Swans and the Fremantle Dockers at Sydney Cricket Ground on August 12, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Having collected and tallied the votes of the entire footballing fraternity, the AFLPA have announced the winners of 2020's best captain, most courageous player and best first year talent.

Taking out the award for the league's best skipper was Collingwood's record breaking captain Scott Pendlebury, collecting 116 votes.

In arrears of the 300 game champion on the podium were first year Bulldog captain Marcus Bontempelli (99) and standalone Power skipper Tom Jonas (90). Courageous Cat Joel Selwood (54) and dual premiership Tiger Trent Cotchin (51) completed the top five.

The winner of the Robert Rose Most Courageous Award was mustachioed Swans defender Dane Rampe with 113 votes. St.Kilda hardnut Jack Steele finished with silver on 95 votes with namesake Jack Viney with bronze on 89. Jonas again featured with 61 votes leaving mulleted Eagle Liam Duggan to round out the top five on 47 votes.

Having spent the better part of his debut season separating himself from packs, impressive Fremantle youngster Caleb Serong continued to trend to win the Best First Year Player Award with 340 votes. Trailing the likely Rising Star winner were Gold Coast's Noah Anderson (158), Hawk Will Day (47), Giant Lachlan Ash (30) and Power livewire Mitchell Georgiades (22).

The fan selected '22under22' was announced on Tuesday, with the leadership roles filled by Bomber Andrew McGrath (captain) and Blues backman Jacob Weitering (vice-captain).

The AFLPA will announce the winner of the Leigh Matthews Trophy for the player's choice of MVP on Thursday night.