Sydney's Isaac Heeney and GWS' Josh Kelly during the round five AFL match between the Sydney Swans and the Greater Western Sydney Giants at Sydney Cricket Ground on April 22, 2017 in Sydney, Australia.

The AFL Players' Association have announced their 40-man 2017 22Under22 squad.

The AFLPA Board selected the list from players who are aged 22 and under for the entire 2017 season, which includes the upcoming finals series.

All players were selected based on their performances over the course of the season, with 22Under22 veterans Marcus Bontempelli, Zach Merrett and Josh Kelly leading the squad.

AFLPA president Matthew Pavlich said it was a tough group to pick, given the quality of players league-wide.

“There’s quality in every position and given the impact some of these players are already having on the competition, it’s hard to believe they are still in the infancy of their careers,” Pavlich told

“This concept gives us the opportunity to recognise the young players across the competition who are the next generation of stars. It’s also something the fans can genuinely impact, so make sure your vote counts.”

As the 22Under22 side is completely fan voted, fans can head to to cast their votes, with voting to be closed on Wednesday, September 6.

The final team will be revealed on Tuesday, September 12, at the AFL Players' MVP Awards night.

22Under22 squad


Jake Lever (Adelaide), Harris Andrews (Brisbane), Andrew McGrath (Essendon), Connor Blakely (Fremantle), Ryan Burton (Hawthorn), James Sicily (Hawthorn), Jayden Hunt (Melbourne), Oscar McDonald (Melbourne), Luke McDonald (North Melbourne), Callum Mills (Sydney), Tom Barrass (West Coast)


Matt Crouch (Adelaide), Patrick Cripps (Carlton), Zach Merrett (Essendon), Josh Kelly (GWS), Clayton Oliver (Melbourne), Christian Petracca (Melbourne), Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide), Jack Sinclair (St Kilda), Jack Steele (St Kilda), Isaac Heeney (Sydney), Zak Jones (Sydney), Dom Sheed (West Coast), Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs), Caleb Daniel (Western Bulldogs), Lachie Hunter (Western Bulldogs) Toby McLean (Western Bulldogs)


Eric Hipwood (Brisbane), Lewis Taylor (Brisbane), Charlie Curnow (Carlton), Darcy Moore (Collingwood), Orazio Fantasia (Essendon), Cam McCarthy (Fremantle), Jack Martin (Gold Coast), Peter Wright (Gold Coast) Dan Butler (Richmond), Daniel Rioli (Richmond), Jack Billings (St Kilda), Tom Papley (Sydney)


Peter Wright (Gold Coast (dual position)), Sean Darcy (Fremantle)