North Melbourne Kangaroos player Eddie Ford (Photo by Steve Bell/Getty Images via AFL Photos)

The list of 2023 AFL Rising Star nominees has been finalised, with North Melbourne's Eddie Ford taking out the Round 24 nomination to complete this year's shortlist.

Ford kicked three goals from 13 disposals and assisted a further two majors in his side's streak-breaking win over the Gold Coast Suns on Saturday in Tasmania.

The Kangaroos forward joins teammates Harry Sheezel and George Wardlaw in securing a nomination for the Rising Star Award in 2023, with North Melbourne one of three clubs to have a trio of nominees make the shortlist.

West Coast (Reuben Ginbey, Jai Culley and Elijah Hewett) and Brisbane (Will Ashcroft, Darcy Wilmot and Jaspa Fletcher) also managed three nominations each, with 12 of the 18 clubs having at least one player feature in the final list.

Collingwood, Port Adelaide, the Western Bulldogs, Essendon, Geelong and Richmond do not have any representation.

11 of the 24 nominees were drafted last year, with this year's four most favoured young guns split between first and second-year players.

Rookie pair Ashcroft and Sheezel are both in strong contention to take out the award, as are second-year Saint Mitch Owens and Fremantle sharpshooter Jye Amiss.

Among the notable names to miss out on a nomination include Essendon pair Jye Menzie and Elijah Tsatas, Suns midfielder Elijah Hollands, 2022 No.1 pick Aaron Cadman and Hawks youngster Cameron Mackenzie.


The Rising Star Award will be voted on by the All-Australian selection committee and senior talent figure Kevin Sheehan, with the winner to be announced on Wednesday night at the AFL's Awards ceremony.

2023 AFL Rising Stars Nominees

Round 1 - Harry Sheezel (North Melbourne)

Round 2 - Will Ashcroft (Brisbane Lions)

Round 3 - Reuben Ginbey (West Coast Eagles)

Round 4 - Mitchito Owens (St Kilda)

Round 5 - Max Michalanney (Adelaide Crows)

Round 6 - Jai Culley (West Coast Eagles)

Round 7 - Finn Callaghan (GWS GIANTS)

Round 8 - Mattaes Phillipou (St Kilda)

Round 9 - Bailey Humphrey (Gold Coast SUNS)

Round 10 - Josh Weddle (Hawthorn)

Round 11 - Jye Amiss (Fremantle)

Round 12 - Jacob Van Rooyen (Melbourne)

Round 13 - George Wardlaw (North Melbourne)

Round 14 - Darcy Wilmot (Brisbane Lions)

Round 15 - Angus Sheldrick (Sydney Swans)

Round 16 - Luke Pedlar (Adelaide Crows)

Round 17 - Seamus Mitchell (Hawthorn)

Round 18 - Judd McVee (Melbourne)

Round 19 - Jaspa Fletcher (Brisbane Lions)

Round 20 - Mac Andrew (Gold Coast SUNS)

Round 21 - Ollie Hollands (Carlton)

Round 22 - Elijah Hewett (West Coast Eagles)

Round 23 - Matthew Johnson (Fremantle)

Round 24 - Eddie Ford (North Melbourne)