MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 28: First round draft selections (Front L-R) Bailey Humphrey of the Suns, Oliver Hollands of the Blues, Jaspa Fletcher of the Lions, Jhye Clark of the Cats, (Middle Row L-R) George Wardlaw of the Kangaroos, Will Ashcroft of the Lions, Aaron Cadman of the Giants, Harry Sheezel of the Kangaroos, Elijah Tsatas of the Bombers, (Back Row L-R) Reuben Ginbey of the Eagles, Cameron Mackenzie of the Hawks, Jedd Busslinger of the Bulldogs and Mattaes Phillipou of the Saints pose for a photo during the 2022 NAB AFL Draft at Marvel Stadium on November 28, 2022 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

A total of 183 players will be eligible for the 2023 Rising Star Award, with a balance of first-year youngsters and second-season names in the mix for the prestigious honour.

Headlined by Brisbane father-son recruit Will Ashcroft, the 2022 draft class have an array of names seen to be a live chance to take out the Ron Evans Medal.

The criteria to be eligible for a Rising Star nomination states players must be 21 years of age (1st January 2023) or played 10 or fewer matches before the 2023 season.

Nominations, cast by the weekly selection panel of Kevin Sheehan (Chairperson), Nathan Buckley, Jude Bolton, Kane Cornes, and Abbey Holmes, will take place each round of the home and away season, with the best individual performance earning a nomination.

The AFL has confirmed the later rounds of the season will give weight to players who are yet to earn nominations but have built a strong case from earlier in the season.

Ashcroft is seen as the favourite for the 2023 Rising Star Award, while 2021 draftees Sam Darcy and Finn Callaghan will also be in consideration.

West Coast pair Reuben Ginbey and Elijah Hewett are among the class of 2022 draftees expected to have an impact at AFL level this year, while Suns pair Elijah Hollands and Joel Jeffrey join Bomber Massimo D'Ambrosio in being eligible for 2023 after earning nominations last year.

Players eligible for the 2023 Rising Star Award

Club First name Surname
Adelaide Crows Hugh Bond
James Borlase
Billy Dowling
Max Michalanney
Luke Nankervis
Tariek Newchurch
Luke Pedlar
Zac Taylor
Brisbane Lions Will Ashcroft
Shadeau Brain
Blake Coleman
Jaspa Fletcher
Kai Lohmann
Carter Michael
Harry Sharp
Henry Smith
James Tunstill
Darcy Wilmot
Carlton Domanic Akuei
Jaxon Binns
Jack Carroll
Lachlan Cowan
Oliver Hollands
Harry Lemmey
Collingwood Edward Allan
Aiden Begg
Arlo Draper
Harvey Harrison
Reef McInnes
Cooper Murley
Jakob Ryan
Oscar Steene
Essendon Kaine Baldwin
Massimo D'Ambrosio
Jayden Davey
Alwyn Davey Jnr
Lewis Hayes
Alastair Lord
Jye Menzie
Anthony Munkara
Zach Reid
Elijah Tsatas
Patrick Voss
Tex Wanganeen
Fremantle Jye Amiss
Eric Benning
Hugh Davies
Joshua Draper
Neil Erasmus
Matthew Johnson
Max Knobel
Conrad Williams
Karl Worner
Geelong Cats Jhye Clark
Ted Clohesy
Toby Conway
Oliver Dempsey
Phoenix Foster
Mitch Knevitt
Flynn Kroeger
Oscar Murdoch
Shannon Neale
Osca Riccardi
Cooper Whyte
James Willis
Gold Coast Suns Mac Andrew
Sandy Brock
Oskar Faulkhead
Elijah Hollands
Bailey Humphrey
Joel Jeffrey
Lloyd Johnston
Ned Moyle
Bodhi Uwland
GWS Giants Ryan Angwin
Aaron Cadman
Finn Callaghan
Josh Fahey
Cameron Fleeton
Jason Gillbee
Max Gruzewski
Cooper Hamilton
Darcy Jones
Nicholas Madden
Toby McMullin
Harry Rowston
Conor Stone
Hawthorn Joshua Bennetts
Sam Butler
Henry Hustwaite
Ned Long
Bailey Macdonald
Cam Mackenzie
Seamus Mitchell
Fionn O'Hara
Jack O'Sullivan
Max Ramsden
Jai Serong
Josh Weddle
Melbourne Jed Adams
Kyah Farris-White
Blake Howes
Matthew Jefferson
Bailey Laurie
Judd McVee
Andy Moniz-Wakefield
Oliver Sestan
Deakyn Smith
Daniel Turner
Jacob van Rooyen
Will Verrall
Taj Woewodin
North Melbourne Jackson Archer
Miller Bergman
Blake Drury
Jacob Edwards
Eddie Ford
Brayden George
Josh Goater
Cooper Harvey
Harry Sheezel
Phoenix Spicer
George Wardlaw
Port Adelaide Nathan Barkla
Jase Burgoyne
Hugh Jackson
Ollie Lord
Kyle Marshall
Tom McCallum
Thomas Scully
Josh Sinn
Dante Visentini
Richmond Sam Banks
Jacob Bauer
Tom Brown
Seth Campbell
Judson Clarke
Steely Green
Kaleb Smith
Tyler Sonsie
St Kilda Oscar Adams
Matthew Allison
Max Heath
Olli Hotton
Isaac Keeler
Angus McLennan
Mitch Owens
Jack Peris
Mattaes Phillipou
James Van Es
Sydney Swans William Edwards
Hugo Hall-Kahan
Jacob Konstanty
Jaiden Magor
Caleb Mitchell
Cameron Owen
Lachlan Rankin
Matt Roberts
Marc Sheather
Angus Sheldrick
Cooper Vickery
Corey Warner
West Coast Eagles Jordyn Baker
Harry Barnett
Rhett Bazzo
Coby Burgiel
Campbell Chesser
Jai Culley
Tyrell Dewar
Reuben Ginbey
Elijah Hewett
Noah Long
Zane Trew
Jack Williams
Isiah Winder
Western Bulldogs Dominic Bedendo
Jedd Busslinger
Charlie Clarke
Luke Cleary
Sam Darcy
Harvey Gallagher
Arthur Jones
Cody Raak