The Grand Final is nearing, and with it comes the Grand Final Sprint, with this season's participants looking to earn bragging rights as the 'best of the west'.

With the COVID-19 pandemic moving the premiership decider to Perth, four sprinters each from West Coast and Fremantle will take part in the event.

Eagles quartet Jack Petruccelle, Liam Ryan, Josh Rotham and Tom Cole will represent the blue and gold side of Western Australia, while Liam Henry, Andrew Brayshaw, Luke Ryan and Ethan Hughes are looking to land a win for the Dockers.

Embed from Getty Images

AFL sponsor Colgate will donate $5,000 to the Ladder Project Foundation in honour of the winner.

“The Colgate AFL Grand Final sprint is one of the much-loved traditions of Grand Final Day. This year seeing our two Western Australian based teams compete will be an exciting match up for all AFL fans," AFL Executive General Manager of Customer and Commercial Kylie Rogers said in a league statement.

“To have eight of the fastest Western Australian players showcase their athletic talent on one of the biggest days in the Australian sporting calendar will be a thrill."

Embed from Getty Images

Past winners of the Grand Final Sprint include Jordan Clark (2020), Ben King (2019), Majak Daw (2015), Patrick Dangerfield (2011, 2012 & 2013), Jake King (2007) and Brendan Fevola (2006).

2021 AFL Grand Final Sprinters:
  • West Coast - Jack Petruccelle
  • West Coast - Liam Ryan
  • West Coast - Josh Rotham
  • West Coast - Tom Cole
  • Fremantle - Liam Henry
  • Fremantle - Andy Brayshaw
  • Fremantle – Luke Ryan
  • Fremantle – Ethan Hughes