As we edge closer to the release of AFL 23, more information is being revealed.

Last week we found out about a 'Pro Team' mode, which looks to be similar to EA Sports' Ultimate Team on FIFA, and now it has been revealed that 36 past players will make their way into the game.

Of the 36 players, featured are some all-time greats like Nathan Buckley, Jason Dunstall and Chris Judd, while some more recent retirees will also be featured, including last year's premiership captain Joel Selwood.

Every club will have two former club greats featured in the game.

The full list of AFL 23 legends

Mark Bickley + Darren Jarman
Simon Black + Michael Voss
Greg Williams + Stephen Kernahan
David Cloke + Nathan Buckley
Dustin Fletcher + Matthew Lloyd
Matthew PavlichDavid Mundy
Joel Selwood + Brad Ottens
Campbell Brown + Jarrod Harbrow
Heath Shaw + Shane Mumford
Jason Dunstall +John Platten
Garry Lyon + David Neitz
Glenn Archer + Wayne Carey
Kane Cornes + Warren Tredrea
Matthew Richardson + Michael Roach
Nick Riewoldt + Peter Everitt
Michael O'Loughlin + Paul Kelly
Glen Jakovich + Chris Judd
Chris Grant + Brad Johnson

At this stage it is unknown in what mode or capacity the players will be featured in.

AFL 23 will release on May 4 for PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S, Xbox One, and PC.