Both the Western Australian and South Australian Football Leagues awarded their best and fairest honours on Monday night, with a former Eagle and a rising Bulldog taking home respective medallions.

In Perth, former West Coast rookie Hamish Brayshaw was awarded the 2023 Sandover Medal following his barnstorming season with East Perth.

The elder brother of Melbourne's Angus and Fremantle's Andrew claimed 26 votes during the count, streaking away to defeat West Perth's Luke Meadows (19 votes), fellow Royal Angus Schumacher (18) and Swans ballwinner Jesse Turner (18).

Brayshaw became the first Royal to claim the state's top honour since another ex-Eagle in Ryan Turnbull saluted in 2001.

The 25-year-old also joined the ilk of John Ironmonger and Graham 'Polly' Farmer in East Perth's Sandover annals.

Across the border, Central Districts midfielder Harry Grant took home the 2023 Magarey Medal after his 27 votes were enough to hold off Norwood's Nik Rokahr (24 votes) and Sturt captain James Battersby (23).

Despite starting slow, the Bulldogs' ball-winner took out the prize following a sterling finish to the season, elevating himself to within rare air at Elizabeth Oval.

Since joining the SANFL in 1964, Centrals have produced seven Magarey winners: Grant, Gary Window, John Duckworth, Brad Symes, John Platten, Gilbert McAdam and Grant's current coach, Paul Thomas.