The three finalists for the 2023 AFL Goal of the Year and AFL Mark of the Year awards have been confirmed after a total of 29 nominations each.

The Goal of the Year award will be claimed by either Brisbane young gun Will Ashcroft, North Melbourne forward Paul Curtis or Port Adelaide flanker Dan Houston.

Ashcroft's acrobatic efforts in Round 7 against Fremantle have earned him a spot among the finalists in his first season, while Curtis' boundary-line brilliance has him in contention.

Houston's match-winning heroics against Essendon have also landed the Power defender among the final three.

For the Mark of the Year, GWS swingman Harrison Himmelberg has claimed two of the finalist spots.

Himmelberg's early-season specky against Adelaide has lasted through to the end, while his Gather Round heroics against Hawthorn will rival his Round 1 grab.

His opposition for the award comes in the form of Collingwood's Ash Johnson, whose Round 10 mark against Carlton has landed him a finalist spot.

AFL Goal of the Year finalists

  • Will Ashcroft (Brisbane Lions) – Round 7
  • Paul Curtis (North Melbourne) – Round 10
  • Dan Houston (Port Adelaide) – Round 16

AFL Mark of the Year finalistsΒ 

  • Harrison Himmelberg (GWS GIANTS) (vs Adelaide) – Round 1
  • Harrison Himmelberg (GWS GIANTS) (vs Hawthorn) – Round 5
  • Ash Johnson (Collingwood) – Round 10