MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 29: Matthew Kreuzer the AFL number one draft pick kicks for goal during a Carlton Blues AFL training session at MC Labour Park on November 29, 2007 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Mark Dadswell/Getty Images)

Leading into the 2017 season, we at Zero Hanger have decided to dive back into the history books and look at some of the drafts since the turn of the century.

Over the course of the next two weeks, we’ll be re-drafting the top 10 from these drafts, so feel free to let us know what you think of our selections, and even comment your own!

It’s time to dive back to 2007 after looking at the 2006 draft on Wednesday, and just so you guys know, this was the hardest list we’ve had to put together so far.

2007 AFL National Draft top 10 as selected:

  1. Matthew KreuzerCarlton
  2. Trent CotchinRichmond
  3. Chris MastenWest Coast
  4. Cale Morton – Melbourne
  5. Jarrad GrantWestern Bulldogs
  6. David MyersEssendon
  7. Rhys PalmerFremantle
  8. Lachlan Henderson – Brisbane
  9. Ben McEvoySt Kilda
  10. Patrick DangerfieldAdelaide
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA – SEPTEMBER 09: Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats celebrates during the 2016 AFL Second Qualifying Final match between the Geelong Cats and the Hawthorn Hawks at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on September 09, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

2007 AFL National Draft top 10 as re-drafted by Zero Hanger:

1. Patrick Dangerfield

A four-time All-Australian and the 2016 Brownlow Medallist, Patrick Dangerfield is one of the premier players in the competition and is a well deserved leader of one of the strongest draft classes in the past decade.

2. Cyril Rioli

The three-time All-Australian and four-time premiership player was taken at pick 12 and has established himself as one of the most dominant small forwards in the game, and Cyril Rioli doesn’t look like slowing down anytime soon.

3. Alex Rance

The 18th selection in the draft is arguably the best full back in the competition heading into the new year, Alex Rance is a three-time All-Australian and 2015 Richmond B&F winner and has gotten better with every season he’s played.

4. Trent Cotchin

A teammate of Rance’s, Trent Cotchin has been Richmond’s captain since 2013 and is a three-time B&F winner at the club, who was also given the 2012 Brownlow Medal last year following the Essendon scandal.

5. Harry Taylor

A two-time premiership player and two-time All-Australian, Harry Taylor was taken at pick 17 has been a cornerstone of the Cats’ backline ever since making his debut back in 2008.

6. Taylor Walker

The Adelaide key forward was selected with the final pick of the 2007 draft (pick 75), but has since gone on to be one of the best players from that talent pool. Walker is one of the more damaging key forwards in the game, and will enter the 2017 season as the Crows’ captain for the third straight year.

7. Callan Ward

After being drafted to the Bulldogs with pick 19, Callan Ward made the switch to GWS in 2012 and hasn’t looked back, and has been the captain of the club since their inaugural season.

8. Jack Steven

A three-time B&F winner with St Kilda, Jack Steven was taken at pick 42 and continues to prove himself as one of the quickest and toughest midfielders in the league.

9. Easton Wood

The 2016 premiership captain for the Western Bulldogs, Easton Wood was selected at pick 43 and has been a strong player for the Dogs throughout his career, and his past two seasons – a B&F in 2015 and premiership medal in 2016 – have easily been his best.

10. Ben McEvoy

Moving from St Kilda to Hawthorn at the end of the 2013 season proved to be a fantastic move for Ben McEvoy, as the agile and talented ruckman went on to win back-to-back flags as the Hawks’ number one choice in the ruck.

Notable absentees: Robbie Tarrant (pick 15), Rhys Palmer (7), Scott Selwood (22), Matthew Kreuzer (1), Dennis Armfield (46), Andy Otten (27), Pearce Hanley (rookie draft pick 38)

*Disclaimer: Despite players being selected in the rookie and pre-season drafts, we have chosen to select only players in this list who were drafted in the National Draft for the purpose of this series.