As many as 24 current AFL players hail from Tasmania, forming a list of potential targets for the league's potentially newest license.

With the AFL set to look toward the Apple Isle as its 19th club in the competition, fans from the island state are sure to be over the moon with the looming news.

Players from Tasmania are also set to be thrilled to see their state represented in the national competition, and could even pull on the jumper for the club's inaugural season in the AFL.

Currently, there is just enough AFL players to fill out a full local talent lineup, with just 24 players from Tasmania currently holding an AFL list spot.

Carlton welcomed highly-rated Devonport prospect Lachlan Cowan through the National Draft last year, another potential target for Tasmania's future planning

HOBART, AUSTRALIA - JULY 31: Lachlan Cowan of the Tasmanian Boys kicks the ball during the match between Tasmania and Calder at Twin Oval on July 31, 2022 in Hobart, Australia. (Photo by Steve Bell/AFL Photos)

But at the top of Tasmania's list there is sure to be a handful of senior AFL players in their sights, with the likes of premiership Demon Ben Brown, Collingwood veteran Jeremy Howe, North Melbourne young gun Tarryn Thomas and Richmond ruckman Toby Nankervis.

A strong supporter of Tasmanian expansion, Tigers champion Jack Riewoldt is likely to miss the boat when it comes to pulling on the boots for his state, but may add to the state's growth through a coaching role.

While more prolific, non-local names will also be tempted with big-money deals from Tasmania, but the club's best bet when it comes to recruiting will be through more native names.

Here are the current AFL-listed Tasmanian players...


Chayce Jones




Lachlan Cowan


Jeremy Howe
Brody Mihocek


Jye Menzie
Andrew Phillips


Alex Pearce


Jake Kolodjashnij

Gold Coast

Lachie Weller






Ben Brown

North Melbourne 

Aaron Hall
Tarryn Thomas
Hugh Greenwood

Port Adelaide

Tom McCallum


Sam Banks
Toby Nankervis
Jack Riewoldt
Rhyan Mansell
Seth Campbell

St Kilda

Jimmy Webster


Robbie Fox
Cameron Owen

West Coast


Western Bulldogs 

Ryan Gardner
Liam Jones