Carlton Blues Training Session
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 12: Ben Crocker of the Blues marks the ball during a Carlton Blues AFL Training Session at Princes Park on February 12, 2021 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Martin Keep/Getty Images)

A host of players remain hopeful for an AFL contract ahead of the 2021 season as clubs continue to assess train-on players during the pre-season supplemental selection period.

Former Magpie and Crow Ben Crocker has been invited to train with Carlton, per AFL Media's Riley Beveridge.

Despite having just one list spot available, Carlton also have former Demons defender Oscar McDonald, axed forward Callum Moore and Murray Bushrangers product Zavier Maher training at Ikon Park.

Beveridge also reports that ex-Eagle Alec Waterman is closing in on a list spot at Essendon, while Hawthorn has invited former Williamstown player Lachie Bramble to its train-on list.

Other players who have recently begun training with clubs include Majak Daw (Melbourne) and Jordan Gallucci (Richmond).

Collingwood, Adelaide and North Melbourne are also hosting train-on players whilst holding just one available spot.

Players are able to be selected for pre-season games, with clubs having the option to sign prospects until March 9 or via the mid-season rookie draft on June 2.

Every player training for an AFL list spot

Adelaide (one list spot): Nick Murray (Williamstown), Ayce Taylor (delisted Crow)

Carlton (one list spot): Ben Crocker (Adelaide), (Oscar McDonald (Melbourne), Callum Moore (Carlton), Zavier Maher (Murray Bushrangers)

Collingwood (two list spots): Jack Briskey (Sherwood Magpies, Queensland)

Essendon (two list spots): Angus Baker (Canberra), Charlie Byrne (Murray Bushrangers), Alec Waterman (Claremont)

Hawthorn (two list spots): Will Bravo (Dandenong Stingrays), Jackson Callow (Norwood)

Melbourne (three list spots): Majak Daw (North Heidelberg), Kobe Farmer (Peel Thunder), Deakyn Smith (Dandenong Stingrays)

North Melbourne (one list spot): Flynn Appleby (Collingwood), Sam Skinner (Brisbane)

Richmond (one list spot): Nick Couroupis (West Adelaide), Jordan Gallucci (Williamstown), Josh Green (Marist AFC, ACT), Derek Eggmolesse-Smith (delisted Tiger)

West Coast: Will Collins (Swan Districts), Cedric Cox (West Coast, WAFL), Nic Martin (Subiaco)

Western Bulldogs (two list spots): Ewan Macpherson (Northern Knights), Corey Preston (Eastern Ranges), Anthony Scott (Footscray)

* St Kilda, Sydney and Port Adelaide also have list openings