The Supplemental Selection Period deadline has come to an end, with several clubs decoding on last minutes moves ahead of Round 1.

16 players were signed through the SSP ahead of the February 15 deadline, while as many as five clubs have decided to keep list spots open for the Mid-Season Draft.

Both Geelong and the Western Bulldogs had opted against trialling players across the course of their pre-season schedules, with both clubs keeping one list spot open and likely setting their sights on the mid-year intake.

The Bulldogs were quick to act on signing away former Demon Oskar Baker in the early days of the SSP window.

Hawthorn won't fill their sole vacancy despite several Box Hill-listed players training under senior coach Sam Mitchell in the summer.

Delisted Magpie Callum Brown, ex-Tiger and Eagle Patrick Naish, former Western Bulldog Callum Porter and VFL-listed defender Liam Coghlan were among the Box Hill contingent that had linked up with the Hawks' AFL program in the past two months, as revealed by Zero Hanger.

The Hawks have previously recruited from within, with Jai Newcombe, James Blanck and Fergus Greene all earning AFL list spots after impressing for Box Hill.

Tasmanian Brandon Leary held a training stint with the Hawks but is said to have been overlooked for a list spot at Waverley.

Both Richmond and Melbourne joined the Hawks in trialling ex-AFL talent through the SSP window, however both clubs opted against adding former Cat Quinton Narkle and ex-Port Adelaide player Trent Burgoyen respectively.

Quinton Narkle during Richmond's open training on December 20, 2022 (Photo by Cameron Grimes/Zero Digital Sports)

Instead, the Demons added key defender and Frankston VFL prospect Kye Turner to their list on deadline day, while Richmond have signed Corowa-Rutherglen forward Kaelan Bradtke to their list for 2023.

Narkle and Burgoyne join former Port Adelaide forward Boyd Woodcock (Gold Coast) and ex-Essendon tall Josh Eyre (St Kilda) in failing to secure second chanes through the SSP.

Carlton were linked to former Richmond and Gold Coast defender Oleg Markov, who had recently trained with Collingwood before South Australian ruckman Oscar Steene won the race for the final list spot.

The Magpies then opted to move defender Charlie Dean to their inactive list, opening up a second chance for Markov, with the backman flipping on his trial at Carlton to sign with the Magpies.

The Blues' potential move for Markov came just days after the club confirmed Zac Williams' 2023 campaign is over due to an ACL injury. The Blues had moved Sam Philp to their long-term injury list and quickly moved on Oakleigh Chargers ruckman Hudson O'Keefe.

VFL-listed defender Alex Cincotta gained the second list spot thanks to a deadline day mover by the Blues.

O'Keefe had trained with Essendon over the summer, with fellow 2022 draft class prospect Mitch Szybkowskiand former Collingwood and Hawthorn midfielder Tom Phillips also trialling at Tullamarine no success.

Phillips has signed with Essendon's VFL outfit for the 2023 season however.

Essendon had given WA youngster Jack Cleaver two weeks to strut his stuff with the Dons, but was overlooked as the Bombers decided on holding the list spot free, according to


Fremantle are nearing a decision on their last list spot, with train and trial duo Sam Stubbs and Liam Serong both vying for a spot in Justin Longmuir's forward line.

St Kilda trialist Josh Eyre (Image via St Kilda FC)

Josh Eyre's time with the Saints came to an unfortunate end after suffering a hamstring injury, with the Saints turning their attention to Northern Knights product Anthony Caminiti.

The tall forward joins ex-Carlton midfielder Liam Stocker in landing a list spot at Moorabbin, with the Saints looking to bolster their key forward stocks after key-position trio Max King (shoulder), Jack Hayes (foot) and Matthew Allison (foot) suffered pre-season setbacks.

Stocker joins a host of ex-AFL names in finding new clubs through the SSP, with Conor McKenna (Brisbane), Liam Shiels (North Melbourne), Darragh Joyce (Brisbane), Mark Keane (Adelaide), Tyler Brown (Adelaide), Jed Anderson (Gold Coast) and the aforementioned Baker and Markov all appointed to list spots.

Anderson is one of two new faces for the Suns, with VFL forward Brodie McLaughlin landing a contract with the Queensland club and joining Turner in being plucked from Frankston's VFL list.

Players signed through the 2023 Supplemental Selection Period

Conor McKenna (Brisbane)
Liam Shiels (North Melbourne)
Darragh Joyce (Brisbane)
Mark Keane (Adelaide)
Tyler Brown (Adelaide)
Jed Anderson (Gold Coast)
Oscar Steene (Collingwood)
Oleg Markov (Collingwood)
Liam Stocker (St Kilda)
Anthony Caminiti (St Kilda)
Brodie McLaughlin (Gold Coast)
Kaelan Bradtke (Richmond)
Hudson O'Keefe (Carlton)
Kye Turner (Melbourne)
Alex Cincotta (Carlton)