AFL Rd 2 - Collingwood v Richmond
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 11: A general view prior to the round 2 AFL match between the Collingwood Magpies and the Richmond Tigers at Melbourne Cricket Ground on June 11, 2020 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Players and coaches from seven Victorian clubs will be forced out of hotspot COVID-19 Melbourne suburbs to be eligible to play in New South Wales, reports Fox Sports.

They have been given a deadline of midnight Wednesday to relocate.

The NSW Government announced that Victorians from the hotspot suburbs who cross the border face a $11,000 fine and six months jail.

According to Fox Sports, St Kilda, Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon, Richmond, North Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs are the clubs affected.

SEN's Sam Edmund reports that around 30 AFL players are moving home to be eligible to play in NSW.

The AFL requires maximum flexibility from its players, with hubs interstate looming.

The league has reportedly offered to put players in hotels if there are no other alternatives.

Fox Sports reports that the 10 Victorian clubs are preparing to move interstate as early as next week to help keep the season alive.

Nothing is official as yet and the clubs are yet to be informed of plans.