ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 16: A general view is seen during the round two AFL NAB Challenge Cup match between the Adelaide Crows and the Port Adelaide Power at Richmond Oval on February 16, 2014 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

Pre-season competition set for new naming rights spponsor

National Australia Bank has opted not to continue its naming rights sponsorship off the AFL’s pre-season competition.

NAB, who will continue to have a strong association with the AFL, with the Auskick program and as the women’s league naming rights sponsor, has held the naming rights to the pre-season comp since 2006.

The AFL’s pre-season competition has also been previously known as the Wizard Cup, the Ansett Cup, the Foster’s Cup and the Panasonic Cup.

But AFL is now on the hunt for a new major sponsor for its pre-season competition, which has lost some of its appeal following the league’s decision to stage practice games rather than stage a competitive tournament.

The tournament was called the NAB Cup when the company first took over naming rights of the competition, with Geelong winning the title over Adelaide in 2006.

However, from 2014, the AFL re-branded the fixtures to the NAB Challenge, with teams playing practice matches throughout regional towns rather than the previous knockout tournament.

The League is yet to confirm who will take over the sponsorship from NAB in 2017.