Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats poses after winning the 2016 Brownlow Medal at the 2016 Brownlow Medal at Crown Entertainment Complex on September 26, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

Patrick Dangerfield wins 2016 Brownlow Medal

Geelong star and raging hot favorite Patrick Dangerfield has won the 2016 Brownlow Medal.

Dangerfield, who wore number 35 with TAC Cup side, Geelong Falcons, and currently wears No.35 at the Cats, finished on a record 35 votes, ahead of second placed Luke Parker, while Richmond’s Dustin Martin finished third. Dangerfield polled in a record 15 games.

The 26-year-old also equaled the nine best on grounds set by Greg Williams in 1994 and Nat Fyfe in 2015.

It is the latest in a bevy of awards for Dangerfield this season. He has won the AFLPA MVP, the AFL Coaches Association Player of the Year and was voted the player of the year by media outlets, The Age, Herald Sun, ABC, SEN, 3AW and Channel Nine.

2016 Brownlow Medal top 20: