GEELONG, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 18: Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats reacts after missing a goal during the round 22 AFL match between the Geelong Cats and the Fremantle Dockers at GMHBA Stadium on August 18, 2018 in Geelong, Australia. (Photo by Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

The Age’s chief football writer, Jake Niall, has revealed his 2018 All-Australian side, with a number of interesting selections.

Niall has selected Lance Franklin despite the star forward missing four games this season, and he’s also put faith in Dustin Martin and Patrick Dangerfield, despite the pair being well down on their 2017 performances.

Geelong’s Tom Stewart has missed out on selection with Niall opting for Ben Stratton instead, while North Melbourne trio Ben Cunnington, Shaun Higgins and Ben Brown have all failed to earn a spot in his 22.

Tom Hawkins also misses out on a spot in the forward line along with Brown, with Niall selecting Jack Riewoldt, Jack Gunston and Lance Franklin as the key talls.

Richmond and West Coast are the most well represented teams, with each side having four players in the line-up.

Brisbane, Essendon, Fremantle, GWS, Gold Coast, North Melbourne and St Kilda all failed to see one of their players named in Niall’s All Australian side.

Niall’s AA team

B: Rory Laird, Alex Rance, Ben Stratton
HB: Nick Vlastuin, Jeremy McGovern, Shannon Hurn
C: Andrew Gaff, Tom Mitchell, Steele Sidebottom
HF: Robbie Gray, Lance Franklin, Patrick Dangerfield (c)
F: Luke Breust, Jack Riewoldt, Jack Gunston
Foll: Max Gawn, Clayton Oliver, Dustin Martin
Inter: Brodie Grundy, Patrick Cripps, Elliott Yeo, Jack Macrae
Coach: Nathan Buckley