The AFL has confirmed the decision paid against North Melbourne defender Scott Thompson in the dying stages of Brisbane’s win over the Roos on Saturday night was the incorrect call.

With scored tied with just over a minute remaining, Oscar McInerney was given a free kick after Thompson was judged to have pushed the ruckman in the back.

However, the AFL confirmed to the Herald Sun on Sunday morning the call was the wrong one, suggesting Thompson’s move was legal.

Was the free kick the right call? Have a look in the video above!