With scored tied with just over a minute remaining, Oscar McInerney was given a free kick after Thompson was judged to have pushed the ruckman in the back.
However, the AFL confirmed to the Herald Sun on Sunday morning the call was the wrong one, suggesting Thompson’s move was legal.
AFL have confirmed the free kick for the big O was incorrect. Thompson should have been paid the mark. Details on @superfooty soon. Thompson used his body perfectly
— Jon Ralph (@RalphyHeraldSun) July 21, 2019
Was the free kick the right call? Have a look in the video above!