MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 31: Tom Lynch of the Suns celebrates a goal during the round 19 AFL match between the Melbourne Demons and the Gold Coast Suns at Melbourne Cricket Ground on July 31, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

The Gold Coast Suns have named their leadership group for 2017 and former skipper Gary Ablett has been left out.

The Suns had already announced Tom Lynch and Steven May as the club’s co-captains following Ablett’s decision to stand down at the end of last year.

The club today announced that Michael Rischitelli, Matt Rosa and David Swallow have retained their spots in the group, while new Sun Michael Barlow and Touk Miller round out the seven-man leadership team.

“Michael Rischitelli, Matt Rosa and David Swallow are already established leaders at our football club and in Michael and David’s case they’ve been playing that role for some time,” coach Rodney Eade said.

“Similar to Matty Rosa last year, Michael Barlow has made an immediate impact on the playing group, leading by example on and off the field and his elevation to the player leadership group demonstrates the influence he has had on the team in a relatively short period of time.

“Touk has been an influential member in our emerging leadership program since joining the club and this has been recognised by the players, resulting in him being voted into the leadership group.

“He has grown and developed as a person, player and leader and we believe Touk will benefit enormously from being part of the leadership group in 2017.”