Australia has announced its squad for November's International Rules series against Ireland.

The Aussies will host Ireland at Adelaide Oval on November 12 and at Domain Stadium on November 18.

There are nine debutants in the side, with Rory Sloane, Gary Ablett, Nathan Fyfe, Toby Greene, Michael Hibberd, Rory Laird, Zach Merrett, Paddy Ryder and Dayne Zorko all selected in the squad for the first time.

Geelong premiership coach Chris Scott will coach the side, while Ross Lyon and Brad Scott will be his assistants.

"Selection in the Australian side is about both recognising the great players in our competition, and those players who are emerging as stars who will dominate the seasons to come," Scott said.

"As selectors, we needed to balance the team with players who have represented Australia before, and understand the game and how it is played against Ireland, and also look to the next generation of elite players who deserve the opportunity to represent us on an international stage.

"All Australian selection at some point in a player’s career was a pre-requisite for consideration, as we also believe that the best players want to learn from each other and provide an environment where they can be better again when they return to their clubs."

The captain of the side will be named closer to the first match.

Full squad:

Gary Ablett (Gold Coast Suns)
Eddie Betts (Adelaide Crows)
Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)
Shaun Burgoyne (Hawthorn)
Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong Cats)
Nathan Fyfe (Fremantle)
Brendon Goddard (Essendon)
Toby Greene (GWS Giants)
Michael Hibberd (Melbourne)
Rory Laird (Adelaide Crows)
Zac Merrett (Essendon)
Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)
Paddy Ryder(Port Adelaide)
Joel Selwood (Geelong Cats)
Rory Sloane (Adelaide Crows)
Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide)
Dayne Zorko (Brisbane Lions)