The 2023 AFL Future Stars match has been confirmed to prelude the Grand Final at the MCG on the last Saturday of September.

Featuring the best young talent across the country, the AFL announced on Wednesday that the game will take place on Grand Final day: Saturday, September 30.

Also confirmed are the 46 players who will be appearing on the day. Split into two teams, the respective sides will be named after former Geelong skipper and four-time premiership player Joel Selwood, and former West Coast Eagles ruckman Nic Naitanui.

All players selected were born in 2006, making them eligible for the 2024 National Draft.  All those playing will be pushing for selection to the 2024 AFL Academy Boys program.

A notable inclusion for the side is Levi Ashcroft, the son of Brisbane champion Marcus and younger brother to Will, who participated in his maiden AFL season this year before succumbing to a season-ending ACL rupture.

Younger brother Levi was a standout throughout 2023 and was recognised with an AFL National Championships U18 Boys All-Australian blazer. Fellow All-Australians Sid Draper and Finn O'Sullivan have also been named.

Draper won the MVP at the Under 18 Championships for South Australia, whilst O'Sullivan won the Kevin Sheehan Medal as the best and fairest in Division 1 during the 2022 AFL National Development Championships U16 Boys.

Ashcroft isn't the only notable father-son prospect listed in the side, though. Ben and Lucas Camporeale, Louie Montgomery, and Tyler Welsh are all named.

The Camporeale boys are father-son eligible for selection at Carlton where their father, Scott, played. Montgomery is the son of former Bulldogs and Port Adelaide defender Brett, yet he's just father-son eligible for the Power.

Welsh can join the Adelaide Crows after his father Scott spent most of his career at the West Lakes club.

The full list of players selected is below: 

Surname First Name DOB State State League Club
Allan Bo 16-02-06 WA Peel Thunder
Ashcroft Levi 18-12-06 VIC M Sandringham Dragons
Camporeale Ben 21-07-06 SA Glenelg
Camporeale Lucas 21-07-06 SA Glenelg
Champion Malakai 17-05-06 WA Subiaco
Cochran Joel 28-03-06 NSW/ACT Sydney Swans Academy
Dattoli Jesse 07-08-06 VIC M Northern Knights
Day-Wicks Archer 13-05-06 VIC C Bendigo Pioneers
Dean Oliver 16-08-06 TAS Tasmania Devils
Draper Sid 05-07-06 SA South Adelaide
Faull Jonty 01-02-06 VIC C GWV Rebels
Gillett Tom 09-01-06 QLD Brisbane Lions Academy
Grego Lucca 15-09-06 VIC M Western Jets
Gross Tom 15-09-06 VIC M Oakleigh Chargers
Hargrave Phoenix 15-09-06 SA South Adelaide
Harrison Joe 20-07-06 NSW/ACT Sydney Swans Academy
Herbert Kade 03-04-06 SA Woodville-West Torrens
Hotton Taj 17-06-06 VIC M Sandringham Dragons
Johnson Zak 24-12-06 VIC M Northern Knights
Kako Isaac 07-03-06 VIC M Calder Cannons
King Nash 15-03-06 VIC M Calder Cannons
Lalor Sam 30-08-06 VIC C GWV Rebels
Langford Harvey 15-03-06 VIC C Dandenong Stingrays
Lindsay Xavier 03-08-06 VIC C Gippsland Power
Lombard Leonardo 05-10-06 QLD
Luck Tom 06-04-06 SA Woodville-West Torrens
Marshall Sam 19-01-06 QLD Brisbane Lions Academy
Sandringham Dragons
Mentha Ricky 04-09-06 NT NT Academy
Gippsland Power
Montgomery Louie 24-04-06 SA North Adelaide
Moraes Christian 08-11-06 VIC M Eastern Ranges
Mraz Noah 20-02-06 VIC C Dandenong Stingrays
Murphy Joshua 28-11-06 NSW/ACT Murray Bushrangers
O'Farrell Harry 03-05-06 VIC M Calder Cannons
O'Sullivan Finn 30-05-06 VIC C Oakleigh Chargers
Penry Flynn 20-04-06 VIC C GWV Rebels
Reid Murphy 30-07-06 VIC M Sandringham Dragons
Shadforth Clay 11-04-06 NT NT Academy
South Adelaide
Shanahan Jobe 02-08-06 NSW/ACT Bendigo Pioneers
Smillie Josh 17-05-06 VIC M Eastern Ranges
Smith Jagga 28-01-06 VIC M Oakleigh Chargers
Trainor Luke 10-04-06 VIC M Sandringham Dragons
Travaglia Tobie 26-10-06 VIC C Bendigo Pioneers
van der Struyf Austin 17-03-06 WA Claremont
Warburton Oliver 13-06-06 VIC C Murray Bushrangers
Welsh Tyler 15-08-06 SA Woodville West-Torrens
Woods Mitch 15-05-06 NSW/ACT Sydney Swans