MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 10: Brodie Grundy of the Magpies and Max Gawn of the Demons compete for the ball during the 2019 AFL round 12 match between the Collingwood Magpies and the Melbourne Demons at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on June 10, 2019 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

Champion Data has revealed its player ratings for the 2020 season.

Champion Data ranks players as ‘elite’ by taking into account what position they play, how long they play in that position and how much above or below the AFL average they perform in each position.

Brisbane, West Coast and GWS boast the most ‘elite’ players in the competition according to champion data, with six from each team.

Brisbane’s super 2019 season continues on in the rankings by champion data with Dayne Zorko, Daniel Rich, Mitch Robinson, Jarryd Lyons, Harris Andrews and club best-and-fairest Lachie Neale have all been put in as part of the top 51 players in the league.

Reigning premiers Richmond have five players on their team considered ‘elite’, but Alex Rance has not been put in that list. Shane Edwards, Nick Vlastuin, Sydney Stack, Dustin Martin and club best-and-fairest Dion Prestia were the players considered ‘elite’ by champion data for the Tigers.

Patrick Cripps (Carlton), Nat Fyfe (Fremantle), Max Gawn (Melbourne), Travis Boak (Port Adelaide) and Hugh Greenwood (Gold Coast) were the only players considered ‘elite’ from their respective team.

Every club has at least one ‘elite’ player in champion data’s top-51 players.

Here is the list of each teams players ranked as ‘elite’ by champion data, ranked by the teams with the most players to the teams with the least:

Brisbane (6 players)

  • Dayne Zorko (Midfielder)
  • Daniel Rich (General defender)
  • Mitch Robinson (Wing)
  • Jarryd Lyons (Midfielder)
  • Harris Andrews (Key defender)
  • Lachie Neale (Midfielder)

GWS Giants (6 players)

  • Zac Williams (General defender)
  • Jeremy Finlayson (Key forward)
  • Jeremy Cameron (Key forward)
  • Lachie Whitfield (Mid-forward)
  • Callan Ward (Midfielder)
  • Stephen Coniglio (Midfielder)

West Coast (6 players)

  • Nic Naitanui (Ruckman)
  • Jeremy McGovern (Key defender)
  • Jack Darling (Key forward)
  • Elliott Yeo (Midfielder)
  • Jamie Cripps (General forward)
  • Shannon Hurn (General defender)

Richmond (5 players)

  • Dustin Martin (Mid-forward)
  • Dion Prestia (Midfield)
  • Shane Edwards (General defender)
  • Nick Vlastuin (General defender)
  • Sydney Stack (General defender)

Western Bulldogs (4 players)

  • Marcus Bontempelli (Midfielder)
  • Matthew Suckling (General defender)
  • Jack Macrae (Midfielder)
  • Caleb Daniel (General defender)

Hawthorn (3 players)

  • Ben McEvoy (Ruckman)
  • Luke Breust (General forward)
  • Ricky Henderson (Wing)

North Melbourne (3 players)

  • Todd Goldstein (Ruckman)
  • Majak Daw (Key defender)
  • Ben Cunnington (Midfielder)

Essendon (3 players)

  • Zach Merrett (Midfielder)
  • Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti (General forward)
  • Conor McKenna (General defender)

Sydney (2 players)

  • Dane Rampe (Key defender)
  • Lance Franklin (Key forward)

St Kilda (2 players)

  • Paddy Ryder (Ruckman)
  • Rowan Marshall (Ruckman)

Geelong (2 players)

  • Patrick Dangerfield (Midfielder)
  • Gary Ablett (General forward)

Collingwood (2 players)

  • Brodie Grundy (Ruckman)
  • Darcy Moore (Key defender)

Adelaide (2 players)

  • Brodie Smith (General defender)
  • Taylor Walker (Key forward)

Fremantle (1 player)

  • Nat Fyfe (Midfielder)

Carlton (1 player)

  • Patrick Cripps (Midfielder)

Melbourne (1 player)

  • Max Gawn (Ruckman)

Port Adelaide (1 player)

  • Travis Boak (Midfielder)

Gold Coast (1 player)

  • Hugh Greenwood (Mid-forward)