A host of familiar surnames and top Academy prospects have been named in a 31-player Allies squad for this year's National Championships.

Following an undefeated 2023 run, the Allies enter this year's carnival as the reigning premiers, with their first title-winning campaign led by the likes of Ryley Sanders, Jed Walter, Connor O'Sullivan and Colby McKercher.

This year, the Allies will look to some of last season's top bottom-age prospects and next wave of draft stars from Queensland, New South Wales, the ACT, Tasmania and the Northern Territory.

Headlining this year's squad will be Gold Coast Suns Academy gun Leonardo Lombard and Brisbane Academy ace Sam Marshall, who both featured in the Allies' successful 2023 carnival.

The Queensland pair are joined by fellow AFL Academy members Joel Cochran, Oliver Dean, Ricky Mentha and Jobe Shanahan in making the Allies squad for 2024.

Also included in the squad are a number of family ties to current and past V/AFL players.

Gold Coast Academy tall Kalani White is the son of Melbourne great Jeff White and is eligible for the 2025 draft, while teammate Zeke Uwland is the younger brother of Suns defender Bodhi.

Sam Marshall in action for the Allies during the 2023 AFL National Championships U18 Boys. Picture: Chris Hyde/AFL Photos

Zai Millane, another Suns Academy prospect, is the nephew of late Collingwood champion Darren Millane.

Palmerston and Oakleigh Chargers talent Waylon Davey-Motlop is the cousin of Essendon pair Alwyn and Jayden Davey, and Carlton's Jesse Motlop.

Other prominent names to feature in the Allies squad are Tasmanian pair Nathaniel Sulzberger and Geordie Payne, as well as Sydney Academy duo Noah Chamberlain and Lachlan Carmichael, who both made last year's U16 All-Australian side.

Fellow bottom-age prospects Daniel Annable, Taj Murray, Uwland and White also won the selection honours last year.

Former Western Bulldogs ruckman and Brisbane Lions Academy boys coach Mitch Hahn will coach the side.

The Allies' first game will come at Thebarton Oval when they take on South Australia on Sunday, May 26.

2024 Allies squad

Nicholas Andreacchio 178 NSW/ACT Sydney Swans Academy
Sydney University
Zeke Uwland 178 QLD GC Suns Academy Burleigh
Ricky Mentha 178 NT NT Academy
Gippsland Power
Leo Lombard 178 QLD GC Suns Academy Broadbeach
Joe Harrison 182 NSW/ACT Sydney Swans Academy Warners Bay
Lachlan Carmichael 183 NSW/ACT Sydney Swans Academy Mosman
Josaia Delana 176 NSW/ACT GWS Giants Academy Willoughby
Taj Stanley 177 NT NT Academy
Southern Districts
Oliver Depaoli-Kubank 178 TAS Tasmania Devils
North Launceston
Geordie Payne 184 TAS Tasmania Devils
North Launceston
Sam Marshall 185 QLD Brisbane Lions Academy
Sandringham Dragons
Old Melburnians
Daniel Annable 183 QLD Brisbane Lions Academy
Redland-Victoria Point
Lenny Douglas 179 TAS Tasmania Devils
North Launceston
Taj Murray 199 NT NT Academy
North Adelaide
Fergus McFadyen 189 QLD Brisbane Lions Academy Wilston Grange
Zai Millane 188 QLD GC Suns Academy
Surfers Paradise
Waylon Davey-Motlop 171 NT NT Academy
Oakleigh Chargers
Joel Cochran 195 NSW/ACT Sydney Swans Academy
UNSW Eastern Suburbs
Caleb Nancarrow 190 QLD GC Suns Academy Cairns City
Noah Chamberlain 192 NSW/ACT Sydney Swans Academy East Sydney
Ryan Gilder 191 QLD Brisbane Lions Academy
Sherwood Districts
Jobe Shanahan 194 NSW/ACT Bendigo Pioneers Moama
Ty Gallop 194 QLD Brisbane Lions Academy Maroochydore
Nathaniel Sulzberger 187 TAS Tasmania Devils
Sandringham Dragons
North Hobart
Ben Kennedy 186 NSW/ACT Murray Bushrangers Yarrawonga
Josh Murphy 190 NSW/ACT Murray Bushrangers North Albury
Oliver Dean 201 TAS Tasmania Devils
North Launceston
Billy Richardson 195 QLD Brisbane Lions Academy Wilston Grange
Logan Smith 204 NSW/ACT GWS Giants Academy Queanbeyan
Cooper Bell 198 NSW/ACT GWS Giants Academy Belconnen
Kalani White 198 QLD GC Suns Academy Broadbeach