MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 02: Max Gawn of the Demons is tackled by Patrick Cripps of the Blues during the round two AFL match between the Melbourne Demons and the Carlton Blues at Melbourne Cricket Ground on April 2, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

The AFL Players Association MVP Award nominees for 2018 have been revealed with the award night being less then a week away.

The nominations involve players choosing three teammates for the award, and three nominees from every other club are presented to the whole playing group to decide the MVP. Players can not vote their own teammates when voting for the MVP.

Most Courageous, Best Captain and Best First Year awards are nominated by the players as well as the three players from every club who are most valuable for their team.


MVP: Rory Laird, Tom Doedee, Matt Crouch


Best First Year: Lachlan Murphy

Captain: Taylor Walker


MVP: Harris Andrews, Dayne Beams, Dayne Zorko

Most Courageous: Darcy Gardiner

Best First Year: Cam Rayner

Captain: Dayne Zorko/Dayne Beams


MVP: Patrick Cripps, Charlie Curnow, Kade Simpson

Most Courageous: Kade Simpson

Best First Year: Paddy Dow

Captain: Marc Murphy


MVP: Brodie Grundy, Scott Pendlebury, Steele Sidebottom

Most Courageous: Taylor Adams

Best First Year: Jaidyn Stephenson

Captain: Scott Pendlebury

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA – APRIL 13: Brodie Grundy of the Magpies celebrates a goal during the 2018 AFL Round 04 match between the Adelaide Crows and the Collingwood Magpies at Adelaide Oval on April 13, 2018 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by James Elsby/AFL Media/Getty Images)


MVP: Tom Bellchambers, Dyson Heppell, Devon Smith

Most Courageous: Matt Dea

Best First Year: Matt Guelfi

Captain: Dyson Heppell


MVP: Ed Langdon, David Mundy, Lachie Neale

Most Courageous: Ed Langdon

Best First Year: Adam Cerra

Captain: Nat Fyfe


MVP: Mark Blicavs, Tom Hawkins, Tom Stewart

Most Courageous: Joel Selwood

Best First Year: Tim Kelly

Captain: Joel Selwood

GOLD COAST                                                                                                         

MVP: Jarrod Harbrow, David Swallow, Jarrod Witts

Most Courageous: David Swallow

Best First Year: Charlie Ballard

Captain: Tom Lynch, Steven May


MVP: Stephen Coniglio, Callan Ward, Lachie Whitfield

Most Courageous: Callan Ward

Best First Year: Sam Taylor

Captain: Callan Ward, Phil Davis


MVP:Luke Breust, Tom Mitchell, Ben Stratton

Most Courageous: Ben Stratton

Best First Year: James Worpel

Captain: Jarryd Roughead


MVP: Max Gawn, Tom McDonald, Clayton Oliver

Most Courageous: Neville Jetta

Best First Year: Bayley Fritsch

Captain: Nathan Jones, Jack Viney

NORTH MELBOURNE                                                                                               

MVP: Ben Brown, Ben Cunnington, Shaun Higgins

Most Courageous: Jed Anderson

Best First Year: Luke Davies-Uniacke

Captain: Jack Ziebell

PORT ADELAIDE                                                                                                     

MVP: Robbie Gray, Tom Jonas, Justin Westhoff

Most Courageous: Tom Jonas

Best First Year: Kane Farrell

Captain: Travis Boak

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA – JUNE 30: Robbie Gray of the Power celebrates kicking a goal during the round 15 AFL match between the Carlton Blues and the Port Adelaide Power at Melbourne Cricket Ground on June 30, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)


MVP: Shane Edwards, Kane Lambert, Dustin Martin

Most Courageous: Dylan Grimes

Best First Year: Jack Higgins

Captain: Trent Cotchin

ST KILDA                                                                                                               

MVP: Jake Carlisle, Sebastian Ross, Jimmy Webster

Most Courageous: Jimmy Webster

Best First Year: Hunter Clark

Captain: Jarryn Geary


MVP: Lance Franklin, Isaac Heeney, Josh Kennedy

Most Courageous: Isaac Heeney

Best First Year: Tom McCartin

Captain: Josh Kennedy

WEST COAST                                                                                                         

MVP: Jack Darling (June’s MVP of the Month), Andrew Gaff, Shannon Hurn, Elliot Yeo

Most Courageous: Brad Sheppard

Best First Year: Liam Ryan

Captain: Shannon Hurn

WESTERN BULLDOGS                                                                                             

MVP: Marcus Bontempelli, Lachie Hunter, Jackson Macrae

Most Courageous: Dale Morris

Best First Year: Ed Richards

Captain: Easton Wood