MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER: Andrew McLeod of the Crows holds up the Norm Smith medal and his Premiership medal after winning the 1998 AFL Grand Final between North Melbourne and the Adelaide Crows at the Melbourne Cricket Ground September, 1998 in Melbourne, Australia. (photo by Getty Images).

The top 40 Northern Territory footballers of the century

AFLNT has unveiled its list of the top 40 footballers from the Northern Territory as it narrows the search for its team of the century.

The list includes players who starred at AFL level who began their careers in the Northern Territory, as well as local legends who played their entire careers up north.

TOP 40 AFL footballers from the Northern Territory:

Jimmy Anderson 1957-1969 Buffaloes
Michael Athanasiou 1981-2000 St Marys
Joe Bonson 1953-1968 Works & Housing
Joel Bowden 1994-2009 West Alice Springs
William Briston 1979-1991 Darwin/Pioneers
Nathan Buckley 1990-2007 Nightcliff/Southern Districts
Peter Burgoyne 1994-2010 St Marys
Ted Cooper 1955-1965 Wanderers
Reuben Cooper snr 1917-1939 Buffaloes
Joe Daby 1969-1982 Nightcliff
Bill Dempsey 1958-1975 Buffaloes
Dennis Dunn 1981-1999 St Marys/Tiwi
Cadji Dunn 1980-1995 St Marys/Tiwi/Pioneers
Michael Graham 1971-1987 St Marys
Jarred Ilett 1997-2016 St Marys
Cameron Ilett 2000-2016 St Marys
Russell Jeffrey 1985-1995 Wanderers
Edmund Johnston 1952-1969 St Marys/Tiwi
David Kantilla snr 1958-1972 St Marys/Tiwi
Gympie LewFatt 1964-2004 St Marys
Walter LewFatt 1930-1942 Buffaloes
Michael Long 1985-2001 St Marys/Tiwi/Pioneers
Noel Long 1982-2000 St Marys/Tiwi
Kelvin Maher 1990-2005 Southern Districts/South Alice Springs
Gilbert McAdam 1985-2000 South Alice Springs/Waratah
Michael McLean 1980-1996 Nightcliff
Andrew McLeod 1991-2011 Darwin
Mark Motlop 1975-2000 Nightcliff/Southern Districts/Wanderers
Henry Peckham 1946-1958 Pioneers/Wanderers
Mike Poulter 1960-1982 Waratah/Darwin
Ronald ‘Barney’ Quall 1970-1985 Darwin
Maurice Rioli 1974-1995 St Marys/Waratah/Tiwi
Cyril Rioli jnr 2005- current St Marys/Tiwi
Cyril Rioli snr 1982-2004 St Marys/Tiwi
Billy Roe 1951-1971 St Marys/Wanderers
Mathew Stokes 1999-currrent Palmerston
John Henry Tye 1968-1980 Nightcliff/Darwin
Iggy Vallejo 1997-current St Marys
Benny Vigona 1975-1986 St Marys/Tiwi
Darryl White 1992-2016 Pioneers/Southern Districts/St Marys/Darwin