PERTH, AUSTRALIA - MAY 13: Matthew Pavlich of the Dockers sings the club song with Ryan Crowley (L) and Aaron Sandilands after winning the round seven AFL match between the Fremantle Dockers and the Port Adelaide Power at Patersons Stadium on May 13, 2012 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

Fremantle has celebrated their 25th year in the AFL by announcing their 25 since ‘95, revealing the 25 best players who have played for the club since 1995.

At a gala ball at the Perth Exhibition and Convention Centre, former captain Matthew Pavlich was named as the skipper of the team, with more than 1000 fans casting their vote on the Fremantle app for the 25-man squad.

Six players in the squad are currently on the list, while five players named were from the Dockers’ first side in 1995.

“It’s fantastic. Now I’m retired and not able to add to my games played or team success, it’s nice to be recognised alongside many great Fremantle Dockers players and teammates, who have represented the club and donned the purple,” Pavlich told the club’s website.

“It’s a nice recognition for all of the effort that we as players have put in. 

“I’m very lucky to have had the chance to play with the majority of this team and even Ben [Allan] coached me briefly in 2001.

“I was fortunate to start my career in an era where I got to learn and play a lot of footy with the likes of Shaun McManus, Shane Parker, Dale Kickett, Clive Waterhouse, Troy Cook and Jeff Farmer.

“Then we had our modern day success and playing finals with the likes of Nat Fyfe and Hayden Ballantyne and the stalwarts that I played a lot of my footy with, David Mundy, Luke McPharlin and Aaron Sandilands.” 


Backs: Roger Hayden, Shane Parker, Antoni Grover
Half-backs: Michael Johnson, Luke McPharlin, Dale Kickett
Centre: Stephen Hill, David Mundy, Shaun McManus
Half-Forwards: Michael Walters, Matthew Pavlich (c), Clive Waterhouse
Forwards: Jeff Farmer, Tony Modra, Hayden Ballantyne
Ruck/followers: Aaron Sandilands, Nat Fyfe, Peter Bell
Interchange: Paul Hasleby, Lachie Neale, Troy Cook, Michael Barlow, Ryan Crowley, Justin Longmuir, Ben Allan