MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 14: Josh Dunkley of the Bulldogs celebrates a goal during the 2019 AFL round 17 match between the Western Bulldogs and the Melbourne Demons at Marvel Stadium on July 14, 2019 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

After an outstanding 2019 season, Harris Andrews headlines the 22under22 team after being named as captain of the team by the AFLPA.

Less than 24 hours after receiving his first All-Australian honour, Andrews, along with teammates Alex Witherden, Hugh McCluggage and Eric Hipwood, made the young guns list.

“To be named as captain alongside three Brisbane teammates and quality young players is a huge honour,” Andrews said.

“It’s wonderful to be recognized by the fans for my work this season and hopefully I can continue that into the finals series.”

It was the third consecutive season that Andrews, as well as Bomber Andrew McGrath and Demon Clayton Oliver, had been named in the 22under22 side.

After a brilliant 2019 season, Bulldogs young-gun Josh Dunkley was also named into the team, while also being named as the team’s vice-captain.

Dunkley was one of three Bulldogs named in the side, with Tim English in the ruck and Aaron Naughton at full-forward.

Carlton also had three players in the team, with Jacob Weitering, Sam Walsh and Harry McKay all gaining honours respectively. It’s the first time Weitering has been in the team since his debut season in 2016.

Tim Taranto, James Worpel and Sydney Stack were other notable names in the team.

There were a number of players in the initial 40-man squad that could be considered unlucky to not make the final team, such as Giant Jacob Hopper, Bulldog Bailey Smith, Swan Jordan Dawson and Cat Jordan Clark.

All but four clubs had a representative in the team, with Collingwood, Fremantle, Geelong and the Gold Coast Suns all missing out.

The 40-man initial squad was reduced to 22, with fans deciding the make-up of the team. To be considered for selection, players had to be aged 22 or younger for the entire AFL season, including the finals.

Here is the 2019 22under22 team in full:

B: Sydney Stack (Richmond), Harris Andrews (Brisbane Lions), Callum Mills (Sydney Swans)

HB: Alex Witherden (Brisbane Lions), Jacob Weitering (Carlton), Dan Houston (Port Adelaide)

C: Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane Lions), Clayton Oliver (Melbourne), Sam Walsh (Carlton)

HF: Connor Rozee (Port Adelaide), Eric Hipwood (Brisbane Lions), Liam Ryan (West Coast Eagles)

F: Jade Gresham (St Kilda), Aaron Naughton (Western Bulldogs), Harry McKay (Carlton)

FOL: Tim English (Western Bulldogs), Tim Taranto (GWS Giants), Josh Dunkley (Western Bulldogs)

I/C: Wayne Milera (Adelaide), James Worpel (Hawthorn), Andrew McGrath (Essendon), Cameron Zurhaar (North Melbourne)

Captain: Harris Andrews

Vice-captain: Josh Dunkley