Seven AFL clubs have welcomed train-on players ahead of the Supplementary Selection Period, which will be open between January 6 and March 9, per The Herald Sun.

Carlton will welcome delisted Melbourne defender Oscar McDonald to their pre-season, along with former Blues and Tigers player Callum Moore and undrafted Murray Bushrangers prospect Zavier Maher.

North Melbourne are set to trial former AFL players Flynn Appleby (Collingwood) and Sam Skinner (Brisbane), while delisted Richmond defender Derek Eggmolesse-Smith will be in line for a lifeline at Punt Road.

The Bulldogs and Demons are set to open opportunities for two sons of club greats.

Ewan Macpherson, son of Steve, will train with the Bulldogs, while Jeff Farmer's son, Kobe, will join the Demons' pre-season.

St Kilda are yet to appoint any train-on players despite having three available spots for their 2021 list.

The Demons, Tigers and Magpies currently have two spots free while the Crows, Blues, Bombers, Kangaroos, Power, Swans and Bulldogs hold one each.

Clubs can also opt to select players via the mid-season Rookie Draft on June 2.


Adelaide: Nick Murray (Williamstown, VFL), Ayce Taylor (Crows)

Carlton: Oscar McDonald (Melbourne), Callum Moore (Richmond), Zavier Maher (Murray Bushrangers)

Collingwood: Jack Briskey (Sherwood Magpies, Queensland)

Melbourne: Kobe Farmer (Peel Thunder, WA)

North Melbourne: Flynn Appleby (Collingwood), Sam Skinner (Brisbane Lions)

Richmond: Nick Couroupis (West Adelaide), Josh Green (Marist AFC, ACT), Rhyan Mansell (Woodville-West Torrens), Derek Eggmolesse-Smith (Tigers)

Western Bulldogs: Ewan Macpherson (Northern Knights), Corey Preston (Eastern Ranges), Anthony Scott (Footscray)