The Sandringham Dragons have once again led the way in being well-represented at the AFL Draft, having almost double the total number of recruits than the next most for 2023.

The Dragons had nine players drafted via the National and Rookie Drafts - four more than fellow Talent League side Gippsland Power.

Ryley Sanders, Charlie Edwards, Ollie Murphy, Luke Lloyd, Archie Roberts, Calsher Dear and Harvey Johnston were all drafted out of the Dragons program at the National Draft, while Vigo Visentini and Matt Carroll were selected at Wednesday's Rookie Draft.

The club's crop of talent comes from far and wide, with Sanders a product out of North Launceston, Tasmania, while Edwards is initially from Sandhurst, Bendigo.

Sanders' three fellow Tasmanians that were drafted this week all hail from Launceston Football Club, which led the way among the junior clubs.

Colby McKercher, James Leake and Arie Schoenmaker were all products of the Blues, who had more players drafted than any other grassroots club from the 83 drafted through the two intakes.

Sandringham's dominance among state league sides follows a strong period of AFL recruitment for the club, with six players drafted last year, nine in 2021 and five in 2020 on top of a range of Mid-Season Draft recruits over that period.

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 24: Sandringham Dragons players celebrate winning the premiership during the Coates Talent League Boys Grand Final match between Sandringham Dragons and Eastern Ranges at Ikon Park on September 24, 2023 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Kelly Defina/AFL Photos)

Gippsland's quartet is headlined by Foster junior Zane Duursma, while Wil Dawson (Leongatha), Archer Reid (Inverloch-Kongwak), Tew Jiath (Morwell) and Lachlan Smith (Warragul) were also selected at the National Draft.

The Gold Coast Suns Academy is one of three clubs to have four players drafted this week, with Jed Walter, Ethan Read and Will Graham all from QAFL club Palm Beach Currumbin to tie with the Launceston trio in representing the most common junior club.

WAFL clubs Claremont and Peel Thunder had three drafted each to tie with Tasmania as the leading non-Victorian sides to be represented.

A total of 32 state league clubs and 68 junior clubs have been represented among this year's draft crop.

2023 AFL National/Rookie Draft Club Breakdown:

State club - player (junior club)

Nine Players

Sandringham Dragons - Ryley Sanders (North Launceston), Charlie Edwards (Sandhurst), Ollie Murphy (East Brighton), Luke Lloyd (De La Salle), Archie Roberts (Hampton Rovers), Calsher Dear (Beaumaris), Harvey Johnston (Parkdale), Vigo Visentini (Brighton Beach), Matt Carroll (East Malvern)

Five Players

Gippsland Power - Zane Duursma (Foster), Wil Dawson (Leongatha), Archer Reid (Inverloch-Kongwak), Tew Jiath (Morwell), Lachlan Smith (Warragul)

Four Players

Gold Coast Academy - Jed Walter (Palm Beach Currumbin), Ethan Read (Palm Beach Currumbin), Will Graham (Palm Beach Currumbin), Jake Rogers (Broadbeach)
GWV Rebels - Luamon Lual (South Warrnambool), George Stevens (South Warrnambool), Joel Freijah (Horsham), Lachlan Charleson (East Point)
Murray Bushrangers - Connor O'Sullivan (Albury), Phoenix Gothard (Albury), Oscar Ryan (Shepparton United), Darcy Wilson (Wangaratta Rovers)

Three Players

Claremont - Dan Curtin (West Coast), Joe Fonti (East Fremantle), Zane Zakostelsky (North Beach)
Dandenong Stingrays - Harry DeMattia (Edithvale-Aspendale), Billy Wilson (Dromana), Cooper Simpson (Mt Martha)
Peel Thunder - Mitchell Edwards (South Mandurah), Clay Hall (Harvey Brunswick Leschenault), Reece Torrent (Halls Head)
Tasmanian Devils - Colby McKercher (Launceston), James Leake (Launceston), Arie Schoenmaker (Launceston)
Oakleigh Chargers - Will Lorenz (Boroondara), Harvey Thomas (Turvey Park), Kynan Brown (Old Geelong)

Two Players

Calder Cannons - Jordan Croft (Maribyrnong Park), Hugo Garcia (Greenvale)
Central Districts - Will McCabe (Tanunda), Liam Fawcett (Pooraka)
Eastern Ranges - Nick Watson (East Ringwood), Caleb Windsor (Lysterfield)
Geelong Falcons - Thomas Anastasopoulos (Newtown & Chilwell), Angus Hastie (Geelong West Giants)
Glenelg - Ashton Moir (Plympton), Bodie Ryan (Brighton)
Northern Knights - Nate Caddy (Yarrambat), Will Green (Northcote)
South Adelaide - Taylor Goad (Willunga), Jack Delean (Reynella)
Subiaco - Koltyn Tholstrup (Newtown-Condingup), Lance Collard (North Beach)
Swan Districts - Riley Hardeman (Caversham), Lawson Humphries (Wickham)
Werribee - Shaun Mannagh (Laverton), Sam Clohesy (St Joseph's)

One Player

Barwon Heads - Oliver Wiltshire
Bendigo Pioneers - Harley Reid (Tongala)
North Adelaide - Kane McAuliffe (Central Augusta)
Perth - Aiden O'Driscoll (Northam)
Sydney Swans Academy - Caiden Cleary (Sydney University)
Western Jets - Logan Morris (Werribee Districts)
Brisbane Lions Academy - Patrick Snell (Wilston Grange)
Sturt - Loch Rawlinson (Mitcham)
East Perth - Xavier Walsh (Mt Lawley Inglewood)
Northern Bullants - Finnbar Maley (Research/Eltham)
Norwood - Will Rowlands (Southern Districts)
West Perth - Odin Jones (Joondalup Kinross)