MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 3: Luke Hodge, Cyril Rioli, Luke Breust and Paul Puopolo of the Hawthorn Hawks bask in glory at the after party during the 2015 Toyota AFL Grand Final match between the Hawthorn Hawks and the West Coast Eagles at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne, Australia on October 3, 2015. (Photo by Daniel Carson/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Hawthorn has been the best team by far in the last decade. Completing a three peat, the club was the most ferocious team with many saying the 2013-15 Hawks were the best dynasty ever.

The team has spent seven out of the ten years in the finals and it looks like they are becoming stronger with the likes of James Siciliy and Tom Mitchell still yet to reach their full potential. This 22-man squad has many players with three premierships next to their name and some have four.

A strong midfield is led by Mitchells Sam and Tom, with Jordan Lewis, Isaac Smith, Brad Sewell and Liam Shiels complementing the perennial ball winners.

The forward line is a proven mix of talls and smalls boasting two Coleman medalists in Jarryd Roughead and Lance Franklin and consistent goalkickers Cyril Rioli, Luke Bruest, Jack Gunston and Paul Puopolo.

Hawthorn’s top 22

FB: Ben Stratton, Brian Lake, Grant Birchall

HB: James Sicily, Josh Gibson, Luke Hodge (c)

C: Isaac Smith, Jordan Lewis, Shaun Burgoyne

HF: Jack Gunston, Lance Franklin, Paul Puopolo

FF: Luke Breust, Jarryd Roughead, Cyril Rioli

R: Ben McEvoy, Sam Mitchell, Tom Mitchell

I: Brad Sewell, Liam Shiels, Matt Suckling, Bradley Hill

Note: We only looked at players’ outputs from 2008-2018, and didn’t take take into account anything prior to 2008.

You can see other sides’ best 22’s right here:

AdelaideBrisbaneCarltonCollingwoodEssendonFremantleGeelongGold Coast, GWS


Comments are closed.