Rory Laird has capped yet another stellar year by winning his third Adelaide Crows best and fairest award. The versatile midfielder was brilliant all season, narrowly winning the count by four votes despite missing the first two games of the season.

Having been consistently one of the most elite midfielders in the competition, Laird took his game to new levels in 2022, finishing second in the league for average disposals per game (33). He also ranked elite for disposals, tackles and clearances.

Perhaps his most impressive accomplishment in 2022 however, was breaking the AFL record for most tackles in a game, registering 20 against Collingwood in Round 18.

Despite such an impressive performance, it seems Laird's brilliance was still not enough. He was perhaps the most unlucky player in the competition to miss an All-Australian selection in 2022.

Laird now becomes one of just four players to win three Malcolm Blight Medals. He joins club legends Andrew McLeod, Mark Ricciuto and Simon Goodwin as triple club champions.

See Also: Geelong duo Jeremy Cameron and Cam Guthrie win B&F

Finishing with 118 votes, Laird, despite missing the first two games with a broken hand, narrowly edged out new recruit Jordan Dawson, who finished second on 114 votes. Ben Keays continued his excellent career renaissance by finishing third on 88 votes.

Embed from Getty Images

Keays' dedication was also recognised with him winning the Dr Brian Sando OAM Trophy for outstanding professionalism and commitment to play at the highest level.

Laird's golden night didn't end with the Best and Fairest win, he was also awarded the Players' Trademark award, while Dawson was announced as the Members' MVP.

See Also: Swans Co-Captain Mills wins Bob Skilton Medal

Veteran key forward Taylor Walker took out a Club-record sixth Leading Goalkicker Award after booting 47 majors in 2022 while youngster Sam Berry took out the Mark Bickley Emerging Talent Award.

2022 Malcolm Blight Medal Leaderboard:

  1. Rory Laird - 118 votes
  2. Jordan Dawson - 114 votes
  3. Ben Keays  - 88 votes
  4. Taylor Walker - 82 votes
  5. Brodie Smith - 72 votes
  6. Darcy Fogarty - 71 votes
  7. Shane McAdam - 66 votes
  8.  Tom Doedee - 66 votes
  9. Sam Berry - 64 votes
  10. Jake Soligo - 61 votes