The very best of WAFL and SANFL will be battling it out for the Haydn Bunton Cup in Friday's State Game.

Both South Australian and Western Australian squads have been announced ahead of the state-level clash at Adelaide Oval, with teams to be finalised on Thursday.

The famous matchup between the Croweaters and Sandgropers gives football fans the chance to see familiar ex-AFL performers and the most in-form players from either state.

South Australia took the cup home in 2019, 2021, and 2022, but will face a Western Australian side loaded with talent prior to Friday night's Port Adelaide vs Melbourne blockbuster.

The State Game kicks off at 3:40pm (AEST), or 3:10pm (ACST), on Friday, May 19, as a curtain-raiser for the top-four AFL matchup.

James Rowe during the AFL match between Essendon and Adelaide, Round 4, 2022 (Photo by Cameron Grimes / Zero Digital Media

Former AFL speedsters Martin Frederick and James Rowe are set to appear for SA, while Magarey Medal favourite Mitch Hardie will show his talents at the national level for the first time.

Ex-Lion Connor Ballenden likely provides a tall target up forward for the Croweaters alongside Sturt's smaller Josh Hone, whose goalkicking ability could be a weapon.

Western Australia's side has been well-supplied by the undefeated East Perth, which is represented by ex-AFL midfielders Hamish Brayshaw and Mitch Crowden.

Claremont forward Jack Buller is also set to test his skills against the Croweaters ahead of the 2023 AFL Mid-Season Draft.

Claremont forward Jack Buller during the WAFL, 2023 (Image via Claremont FC, Instagram)

READ MORE: Claremont's Jack Buller backed to stand tall in the top flight

The Sandgropers have mixed young and old, with 20-year-olds in ex-Port Adelaide talent Taj Schofield and former Fremantle player Joel Western selected in their 34-man squad.

Former Peel Thunder coach Cam Shephard will helm Western Australia once again, as Norwood's Jade Rawlings makes his first appearance as South Australia's coach.

Last year's State Game at Optus Stadium went down to the wire, with Sturt's Casey Voss starring in South Australia's four-point victory.

Western Australian Squad:

Jack Buller: Claremont
Oliver Eastland: Claremont
Ben Edwards: Claremont
Teia Miles: Claremont
Bailey Rogers: Claremont
Joel Western: Claremont
Kyle Baskerville: East Fremantle
Cam Eardley: East Fremantle
Matthew Jupp: East Fremantle
Milan Murdock: East Fremantle
Angus Schumacher: East Perth
Mitch Crowden: East Perth
Hamish Brayshaw: East Perth
Scott Jones: East Perth
Angus Scott: East Perth
Ben Hancock: Peel Thunder
Michael Sinclair: Perth
Brendon Ah Chee: South Fremantle
Tom Blechynden: South Fremantle
Toby McQuilkin: South Fremantle
Chad Pearson: South Fremantle
Jimmy Miller: South Fremantle
Stefan Giro: Subiaco
Leigh Kitchin: Subiaco
Taj Schofield: Subiaco
Ben Sokol: Subiaco
Brandon Erceg: Swan Districts
Jesse Turner: Swan Districts
Jackson Nelson: West Coast Eagles
Zac Guadagnin: West Perth
Tyler Keitel: West Perth
Luke Meadows: West Perth
Noah Pegoraro: West Perth

South Australian Squad:

Jez McLennan: Central
Connor Ballenden: Eagles
Mitch Hardie: Eagles
James Rowe: Eagles
Joe Sinor: Eagles
Matthew Allen: Glenelg
Darcy Bailey: Glenelg
Lachie Hosie: Glenelg
Liam McBean: Glenelg
Max Proud: Glenelg
Brett Turner: Glenelg
Cameron Craig: North Adelaide
Mitch Harvey: North Adelaide
Harrison Magor: North Adelaide
Keenan Ramsey: North Adelaide
Frank Szekely: North Adelaide
Harry Boyd: Norwood
Eamon Wilkinson: South Adelaide
Will Coomblas: Sturt
Martin Frederick: Sturt
Josh Hone: Sturt
Tom Lewis: Sturt
Connor McFadyen: Sturt
Casey Voss: Sturt
Josh Ryan: West Adelaide