ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 11: Charlie Dixon of the Power celebrates after kicking a goal during the round 21 AFL match between the Port Adelaide Power and the West Coast Eagles at Adelaide Oval on August 11, 2018 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images)

Port Adelaide will be without veteran sharpshooter Charlie Dixon for the remainder of the home and away season after a small fracture was discovered in his foot.

Dixon missed last Saturday's loss to Geelong after suffering a setback at training last week, with further investigations into the ailment uncovering a small crack under the middle section of his foot.

While the 32-year-old won't require surgery, Dixon will need approximately a month on the sidelines, placing him in doubt to play again before finals.

With no delays, Dixon would be expected to return for the club's opening finals game - likely to be a qualifying final in mid-September.

The injury blow comes as the Power look to land a top two finish and claim a home final in week one of the post-season, with Ken Hinkley's side potentially needing a perfect run in their final three games to move back into the top two.

Port Adelaide are currently level on points with both Melbourne and Brisbane, however sit behind their fellow flag contenders due to percentage.

Port Adelaide will face GWS this Sunday before matches against Fremantle and Richmond to conclude their home and away campaign.

The Power will be without defender Trent McKenzie until finals as well, with a PCL knee injury sidelining the backman for up to five weeks.

Ruckman Scott Lycett (knee) is also facing a period on the sidelines after requiring surgery, while defensive pair Aliir Aliir and Lachie Jones are expected to make returns this week after being placed into the AFL's mandatory concussion protocols.

Hinkley is also likely to have Miles Bergman, Jeremy Finlayson and Kane Farrell available after the trio missed the trip to Geelong due to illness.

Port Adelaide will host GWS at Adelaide Oval on Sunday at 4:40pm (AEST).