James Sicily saw off all comers during Saturday night's Peter Crimmins Medal count to claim his debut best and fairest gong after a career year in brown and gold.

On a night that was sidetracked by Jeff Kennett's outgoing speech at Crown Casino, Sicily shrugged off an All-Australian snub by earning his first podium finish across his nine seasons as a Hawk.

The 27-year-old earned votes in 19 of his 22 outings this season, streaking away to claim the clubland honour by eight votes from young gun Jai Newcombe.

The achievement holds extra weight given the defender missed the entirety of the 2021 season after rupturing his ACL during Hawthorn's Round 12 loss to West Coast in 2020.

Across the course of the 2022 season, Sicily lead the AFL in marks, with an average of 8.6 per week, as well as rebound 50s, racking up a mean of 8.1 each fixture.

Not to be outdone, Newcombe added to his AFLCA Best Young Player prize and top three finish, claiming Hawthorn's Lethal Award, as voted by his peers.

Both Sicily and Newcombe were joined on the podium by the much-ameliorated Dylan Moore, capping his own campaign with averages of 20.2 disposals, 5.6 marks, 4.2 tackles per game and 26 goals for the season.

Sicily's defensive teammate Blake Hardwick and Brownlow-winning veteran Tom Mitchell rounded out the top five.

Mitch Lewis ended his night as Hawthorn's Most Improved Player and Hardwick as the Hawks' Most Courageous. Ruckman Ned Reeves was labelled as the club's Most Promising Player, with Moore also seen as the Best Clubman.

2022 Peter Crimmins Medal Top 10

1. James Sicily (123)
2. Jai Newcombe (115)
3. Dylan Moore (113)
4. Blake Hardwick (82)
5. Tom Mitchell (79)
6. Mitch Lewis (74)
7. Jaeger O'Meara (65)
8. Finn Maginness (61)
=9. Harry Morrison (59)
=9. Jack Scrimshaw (59)