Jacob Weitering of the Blues marks during the NAB Challenge AFL match between the Carlton Blues and the Sydney Swans at Etihad Stadium on March 11, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia.

Carlton defender Jacob Weitering has claimed his maiden John Nicholls Medal following a sensational season in the navy blue.

The 23-year-old edged out young midfielder Sam Walsh and veteran onballer Ed Curnow to take out the honours, five months after the 2020 season concluded.

Blues coach David Teague commended the trio’s efforts for last season, stating Weitering took his game to a new level and has rightfully been rewarded for his efforts.

“Last year, we asked Jacob to take the next step as a key defender and a leader. He not only welcomed that responsibility, he thrived on it,” Teague said, per the club website.

What is great about Jacob is how much he cares about making us a better football club. He pushes himself to compete and beat his opponents, he pushes his teammates to be better, leading from the front with his work ethic and his actions.  

“He is now reaping the rewards of his hard work as we’ve seen, and as a football club we couldn’t be prouder to have Jacob crowned our 2020 John Nicholls Medallist. 

“To see Sam finish runner-up is a testament to not only his skill but his character and how he holds himself as a Carlton person. He was asked to go out on the wing last season for the team and to see him execute that role in the manner in which he did makes him a great role model for our entire playing group. 

“Ed is no stranger come John Nicholls Medal night. He gets the job done week in, week out and leaves the field after every game having given his all. There is no surprise he has finished within the top three once again. 

“All three players set the standard at our football club at every training session and at every game and we look forward to each of them, along with rest of our playing group, pulling on the Navy Blue guernsey this year, determined to improve again as individuals and as a team.”

Weitering also took out the club’s Bill Lanyon Inner Blue Ruthless Award, while Walsh, Marc Pittonet, Tom De Koning, Nic Newman, Jack Martin and Liam Jones also won individual honours.

Carlton’s 2020 award winners:

John Nicholls Medal: Jacob Weitering

The Carltonians William A. Cook Trophy: Sam Walsh 

The Spirit of Carlton Award: Marc Pittonet 

The Bill Lanyon Inner Blue Ruthless Award: Jacob Weitering 

Best Young Player Award: Tom De Koning

Best Clubman Award: Nic Newman

Coaches Award: Jack Martin

Most Valuable Bluebagger Award: Liam Jones