SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 27: Lance Franklin of the Swans celebrates a goal during the round 23 AFL match between the Sydney Swans and the Richmond Tigers at Sydney Cricket Ground on August 27, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

Lance Franklin is one of 10 AFL players who will don new numbers for this weekend's Sir Doug Nicholls Indigenous Round.

Buddy will switch the number 23 guernsey for the number 67, which commemorates the year of the referendum to ensure Indigenous Australians would be accounted for in the census and allowed for the federal government to make laws for them.

The 67 guernsey will be worn by Brisbane's Cedric Cox, Collingwood's Daniel Wells, Gold Coast's Steven May, GWS' Zac Williams, Hawthorn's Shaun Burgoyne and Richmond's Shane Edwards.

Brisbane's Dayne Beams, Gold Coast's Tom Lynch and Sydney's Dane Rampe will all wear the number 50 to honour the 50th year of the referendum, which was passed 50 years to the day on Saturday.

Players wearing different numbers for Indigenous Round:

Dayne Beams - 50
Cedric Cox - 67

Daniel Wells - 67

Gold Coast
Tom Lynch - 50
Steven May - 67

Zac Williams - 67

Shaun Burgoyne - 67

Shane Edwards - 67

Dane Rampe - 50
Lance Franklin - 67