MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 05: Leaders Ed Curnow, Marc Murphy, Co- Captains Sam Docherty and Patrick Cripps and Kade Simpson of the Blues pose during a Carlton Blues AFL media opportunity at Ikon Park on December 05, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

Carlton have named their 2019 leadership group, with co-captains Patrick Cripps and Sam Docherty headlining the new-look leaders.

Alongside the first co-captains in the club’s history, former captain Marc Murphy, defender Kade Simpson and midfielder Ed Curnow round out those who are in official leadership roles at the club.

“Doc and I could not think of three better players and people we would rather have by our side to lead our football club,” Cripps told

“Murph, Ed and Simmo have been true leaders of Carlton over the last few years – when our club has needed them, they have been front and centre. Their experience and support will be crucial in helping us to take this group to a new and exciting level in 2019.”

Docherty was also pleased with the names alongside his in the group, and can’t wait to get stuck into 2019 already.

“Our playing group now has a great mix of experienced and young talent and we feel our leadership group is a true reflection of that,” Docherty said.

“While we each have our own unique style of leadership we share the same philosophy – to take the Carlton Football Club into its next era of success.

“We will do that by being relentless and uncompromising in driving elite standards within the playing group. There is genuine excitement within this group about what we can achieve together in 2019.”