Jy Simpkin has taken home a second consecutive Syd Barker Medal at North Melbourne's best and fairest on Thursday night.

The 24-year-old is now in good stead to be the future captain, having now won two best and fairest medals since being named vice-captain.

Simpkin polled 130 votes, well clear of the favourite Luke Davies-Uniacke (108 votes) in front of a packed crowd featuring new coach Alastair Clarkson.

The young midfielder had a productive year, averaging 26.6 disposals and bringing up career best numbers in tackles and clearances.

He also produced career-high numbers for score involvements (five per game) and metres gained (398.1m per game).

Davies-Uniacke, who had a career-best season, won both the Glenn Archer Shinboner of the Year award and the Mazda Excellence Award.

Bailey Scott rounded out the top three while Luke McDonald was named Best Clubman, Charlie Lazzaro the Community Award and former AFL player Dom Tyson was the VFL best and fairest.

2022 Syd Barker Medal

1. Jy Simpkin - 130 votes
2. Luke Davies-Uniacke - 108
3. Bailey Scott - 98
4. Todd Goldstein - 93
5. Luke McDonald - 88
6. Nick Larkey - 79
7. Cam Zurhaar - 66
8. Aidan Corr - 59
9. Hugh Greenwood - 51
10. Lachie Young - 50