The nominees for the AFLPA MVP Awards have been announced and there are a few surprise exclusions.

The awards are a two stage process with players nominating their teammates in stage one before players voting on competition-wide candidates in stage two.

Embed from Getty Images

As well as the AFLPA MVP, players also vote for Most Courageous, Best First Year Player and Best Captain.

With the nominees from each club now revealed, there have been a few surprise omissions.

In a sign of how strong the Demons have performed this year, skipper Max Gawn was not one of Melbourne's nominees for the main award.

Although destined to be the All-Australian ruckman for a fifth year, Gawn missed out as Steven May, Clayton Oliver and Christian Petracca took out the most votes.

Embed from Getty Images

Jake Stringer also missed out on nomination from Essendon despite his electric run of form., which saw him land in the All-Australian squad of 40. Zach Merrett, Darcy Parish and  most surprisingly Jayden Laverde were all favoured in the MVP voting ahead of the 27-year-old.

Travis Boak was snubbed for the second time in a week after missing on the All-Australian squad earlier this week. Aliir Aliir, Karl Amon and Ollie Wines were all voted ahead of the Port veteran.

Embed from Getty Images

Players will now vote from the nominees in the second stage but cannot vote for their teammates. The winners to be announced next Thursday night.

The full list of AFLPA MVP Awards nominees:


MVP: Ben Keays, Rory Laird, Paul Seedsman
Most Courageous: Tom Doedee
Best First Year: Riley Thilthorpe
Captain: Rory Sloane

Embed from Getty Images


MVP: Jarryd Lyons, Hugh McCluggage, Dayne Zorko
Most Courageous: Marcus Adams
Best First Year: Harry Sharp
Captain: Dayne Zorko


MVP: Harry McKay, Sam Walsh, Jacob Weitering
Most Courageous: Liam Jones
Best First Year: Luke Parks
Captain: Patrick Cripps, Sam Docherty

Embed from Getty Images


MVP: Jack Crisp, Jordan De Goey, Brayden Maynard
Most Courageous: Nathan Murphy
Best First Year: Beau McCreery
Captain: Scott Pendlebury


MVP: Jayden Laverde, Zach Merrett, Darcy Parish
Most Courageous: Jayden Laverde
Best First Year: Nikolas Cox
Captain: Dyson Heppell

Embed from Getty Images


MVP: Andrew Brayshaw, Sean Darcy, David Mundy
Most Courageous: Lachlan Schultz
Best First Year: Joshua Treacy
Captain: Nathan Fyfe


MVP: Cameron Guthrie, Tom Hawkins, Tom Stewart
Most Courageous: Jack Henry
Best First Year: Max Holmes
Captain: Joel Selwood


MVP: Charlie Ballard, Touk Miller, Wil Powell
Most Courageous: Wil Powell
Best First Year: Joel Jeffrey
Captain: David Swallow, Jarrod Witts

Embed from Getty Images


MVP: Toby Greene, Jacob Hopper, Sam Taylor
Most Courageous: Harry Perryman
Best First Year: Tanner Bruhn
Captain: Stephen Coniglio


MVP: Blake Hardwick, Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O’Meara
Most Courageous: Blake Hardwick
Best First Year: Lachlan Bramble
Captain: Ben McEvoy


MVP: Steven May, Clayton Oliver, Christian Petracca
Most Courageous: Angus Brayshaw
Best First Year: Jake Bowey
Captain: Max Gawn

Embed from Getty Images


MVP: Ben Cunnington, Aaron Hall, Jy Simpkin
Most Courageous: Kayne Turner
Best First Year: Tom Powell
Captain: Jack Ziebell


MVP: Aliir Aliir, Karl Amon, Ollie Wines
Most Courageous: Tom Jonas
Best First Year: Lachlan Jones
Captain: Tom Jonas

Embed from Getty Images


MVP: Liam Baker, Dylan Grimes, Toby Nankervis
Most Courageous: Liam Baker
Best First Year: Rhyan Mansell
Captain: Trent Cotchin


MVP: Tim Membrey, Jack Sinclair, Jack Steele
Most Courageous: Jack Steele
Best First Year: Tom Highmore
Captain: Jarryn Geary, Jack Steele


MVP: Tom Hickey, Callum Mills, Luke Parker
Most Courageous: Tom McCartin
Best First Year: Errol Gulden
Captain: Dane Rampe, Luke Parker, Joshua Kennedy

Embed from Getty Images


MVP: Tom Barrass, Shannon Hurn, Nic Naitanui
Most Courageous: Tom Barrass
Best First Year: Connor West
Captain: Luke Shuey


MVP: Marcus Bontempelli, Tom Liberatore, Jack Macrae
Most Courageous: Taylor Duryea
Best First Year: Anthony Scott
Captain: Marcus Bontempelli

Embed from Getty Images