BALLARAT, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 10: Marcus Bontempelli of the Bulldogs runs with the ball during the 2019 JLT Community Series AFL match between the Western Bulldogs and the St Kilda Saints at Mars Stadium on March 10, 2019 in Ballarat, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

With the AFL season kicking off in just over a month, all 18 clubs will finalise their season preparations and participate in the 2020 AFL Marsh Community Series.

The Marsh Community Series will act as the traditional pre-season fixtures for clubs to get their players fit, develop the youngsters, unearth new recruits and finalise their game plans for the upcoming season.

When and where is it?

The 2020 AFL Marsh Community Series will kick off on Thursday February 20 with St Kilda hosting traditional rivals Hawthorn in their return to traditional home Moorabbin, now known as RSEA Park. In 2020, the Marsh Community Series will live up to its name with all but one fixture being played at non-traditional venues.

What is the fixture?

Thursday February 20

St Kilda v Hawthorn: RSEA Park (Moorabbin), 7.10pm AEDT

Friday February 21

Western Bulldogs v North Melbourne: Marvel Stadium, 7.10pm AEDT

Saturday February 22

Melbourne v Adelaide: Casey Fields (Cranbourne), 4.40pm AEDT

Gold Coast v Geelong: Metricon Stadium, 6.40pm AEST

Sunday February 23

Brisbane v Port Adelaide: Moreton Bay Central Sports Complex, 3.10pm AEST

Friday February 28

West Coast v Essendon: Mineral Resources Park (Lathlain), 4.40pm AWST

Saturday February 29

GWS v Sydney: Blacktown International Sportspark, 4.10pm AEDT

Fremantle v Carlton: David Grays Arena (Mandurah), 4.10pm AWST

Sunday March 1

Richmond v Collingwood: Norm Minns Oval (Wangaratta), 4.10pm AEDT

Friday March 6

Adelaide v Gold Coast: Flinders University Stadium (Noarlunga), 4.20pm ACDT

Hawthorn v Melbourne: UTAS Stadium (Launceston), 7.40pm AEDT

Saturday March 7

Port Adelaide v Western Bulldogs: Bennett Oval (Whyalla), 3.40pm ACDT

West Coast v Fremantle: HBF Arena (Joondalup), 4.10pm WST

Sunday March 8

GWS v Richmond: Robertson Oval (Wagga Wagga), 12.40pm AEDT

Collingwood v St Kilda: Morwell Recreation Reserve, 3.50pm AEDT

Carlton v Brisbane: Ikon Park (Carlton), 6.40pm AEDT

Monday March 9

North Melbourne v Sydney: Kingston Twin Ovals (Hobart), 1.40pm AEDT

Geelong v Essendon: Central Reserve (Colac), 4.40pm AEDT

Who is playing?

All 18 AFL clubs will participate with teams set to be announced the day before their games. Every club has a different approach to picking its team – some name a near full-strength side, while others blood as many youngsters as possible.

What are the rules?

It will largely follow the same rules as a regular-season game with a few minor tweaks.

-Teams will have eight players on the bench

-Clubs are permitted to pick players from pre-season supplemental selection period (SSP) vying for a spot

-During the first two weeks of the competition, runners will be permitted to enter the field of play twice for a maximum of 90 seconds per quarter. This will be capped in the final round to three messages per quarter for 60 seconds.

How can I watch?

Sadly, no games will be on free to air with all 2020 AFL Marsh Community Series games will be broadcast live on Fox Footy, Kayo Sports as well as AFL Live Pass.

Are tickets still available?

Tickets are still available for all 18 matches via Ticketmaster and Ticketek with ticket prices starting at $20 for adults.