MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 30: Lance Franklin of the Swans kicks a goal during the 2015 AFL round 22 match between the St Kilda Saints and the Sydney Swans at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne, Australia on August 30, 2015. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Former Herald Sun chief football writer Mike Sheahan has completed his top 50 players for 2017 for SEN, the first list he’s produced since 2014.

Sheahan’s list was one of the most talked about articles of every pre-season, and Sheahan has now returned to SEN to tell fans who he believes are the best players in the game.

According to Sheahan that man is Lance Franklin, as the Swans superstar edges out Patrick Dangerfield and Marcus Bontempelli for top spot.

Richmond’s Alex Rance and 2015 Brownlow Medallist Nat Fyfe round out the top five, as Sheahan’s top 50 is sure to cause debate amongst readers once again.

Mike Sheanhan’s complete top 50:

1. Lance FRANKLIN (Sydney Swans)

2. Paddy DANGERFIELD (Geelong)

3. Marcus BONTEMPELLI (Western Bulldogs)

4. Alex RANCE (Richmond)

5. Nat FYFE (Fremantle)

6. Joel SELWOOD (Geelong)

7. Josh KENNEDY (Sydney Swans)

8. Tom LYNCH (Gold Coast)

9. Eddie BETTS (Adelaide)

10. Scott PENDLEBURY (Collingwood)

11. Cyril RIOLI (Hawthorn)

12. Gary ABLETT (Gold Coast)

13. Jarryd ROUGHEAD (Hawthorn)

14. Aaron SANDILANDS (Fremantle)

15. Dustin MARTIN (Richmond)

16. Rory SLOANE (Adelaide)

17. Sam MITCHELL (West Coast)

18. Luke PARKER (Sydney Swans)

19. Robbie GRAY (Port Adelaide)

20. Max GAWN (Melbourne)

21. Jobe WATSON (Essendon)

22. Dan HANNEBERY (Sydney Swans)

23. Josh KENNEDY (West Coast)

24. Nick RIEWOLDT (St Kilda)

25. Dale MORRIS (Western Bulldogs)

26. Callan WARD (GWS Giants)

27. Zach MERRETT (Essendon)

28. Jack STEVEN (St Kilda)

29. Josh KELLY (GWS Giants)

30. Dyson HEPPELL (Essendon)

31. Jeremy CAMERON (GWS Giants)

32. Easton WOOD (Western Bulldogs)

33. Dylan SHIEL (GWS Giants)

34. Luke SHUEY (West Coast)

35. Jon PATTON (GWS Giants)

36. Adam TRELOAR (Collingwood)

37. Patrick CRIPPS (Carlton)

38. Rory LOBB (GWS Giants)

39. Taylor WALKER (Adelaide)

40. Dayne BEAMS (Brisbane Lions)

41. Steele SIDEBOTTOM (Collingwood)

42. Lachie NEALE (Fremantle)

43. Liam PICKEN (Western Bulldogs)

44. Todd GOLDSTEIN (North Melbourne)

45. Heath SHAW (GWS Giants)

46. Steven MAY (Gold Coast)

47. Darcy MOORE (Collingwood)

48. Jack VINEY (Melbourne)

49. Toby GREENE (GWS Giants)

50. Christian PETRACCA (Melbourne)