MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 15: Charlie Rowbottom of Vic Metro is tackled by Mel Hardy of Western Australia during the 2021 AFLW U19 Championships match between Vic Metro and Western Australia at the Trevor Barker Oval on April 15, 2021 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos)

Sydney will enter the 2022 AFLW National Draft with six first-round selections, headlined by the first overall pick for the June 29 draft.

The Swans currently hold picks 1, 5, 11, 12, 13 and 29 in the opening round of the National Draft, with all four expansion sides sharing the opening 13 selections.

Hawthorn holds four top 10 selections in the preliminary draft order, while Essendon and Port Adelaide are currently in possession of two selections in the same bracket.

None of the draft's first 13 picks can be traded.

2022 wooden spooners West Coast will be the first of the non-expansion sides on the clock at Pick 14, with the Eagles also holding the succeeding selection at Pick 15 and selection 36 to finish the first round.

Players who are eligible for the National Draft will be able to nominate which state they wish to be recruited to, placing clubs to select from a crop of players from their local state.

The 2022 AFLW Draft Order will be finalised at the cessation of the 2022 sign and trade period, which will run from Tuesday, May 31 to Wednesday, June 8.

Indicative 2022 AFLW National Draft order:

Round 1

1 Sydney Swans
2 Hawthorn
3 Port Adelaide
4 Essendon
5 Sydney Swans
6 Hawthorn
7 Port Adelaide
8 Essendon
9 Hawthorn
10 Hawthorn
11 Sydney Swans
12 Sydney Swans
13 Sydney Swans
14 West Coast Eagles
15 West Coast Eagles
16 St Kilda
17 Geelong Cats
18 Richmond
19 Gold Coast Suns
20 GWS Giants
21 Carlton
22 Hawthorn
23 Port Adelaide
24 Western Bulldogs
25 Collingwood
26 North Melbourne
27 Fremantle
28 St Kilda
29 Sydney Swans
30 Hawthorn
31 Port Adelaide
32 Essendon
33 Hawthorn
34 Port Adelaide
35 Essendon
36 West Coast Eagles


Round 2

37 St Kilda
38 Carlton
39 North Melbourne
40 Fremantle
41 Brisbane Lions
42 Melbourne
43 Adelaide Crows
44 Sydney Swans
45 Hawthorn
46 Port Adelaide
47 Essendon
48 West Coast Eagles
49 Gold Coast Suns


Round 3

50 West Coast Eagles
51 Geelong Cats
52 Richmond
53 Gold Coast Suns
54 GWS Giants
55 Carlton
56 Western Bulldogs
57 Collingwood
58 Brisbane Lions
59 Melbourne
60 Adelaide Crows
61 Sydney Swans
62 Hawthorn
63 Port Adelaide
64 Essendon


Round 4

65 West Coast Eagles
66 St Kilda
67 Geelong
68 Richmond
69 Gold Coast Suns
70 GWS Giants
71 Carlton
72 Western Bulldogs
73 Collingwood
74 North Melbourne
75 Fremantle
76 Brisbane Lions
77 Melbourne
78 Adelaide Crows
79 Sydney Swans
80 Hawthorn
81 Port Adelaide
82 Essendon


  1. So…. Erin Phillips is not “worth” 28 “points”…

    To put that into perspective:
    3 time premiership player (2 as captain)
    2 time league best/fairest
    2 time Grand Final Best of field
    2 time club best/fairest
    1 time league leading scorer
    (there’s obviously more but you get the point)

    … but wait – there’s more…..

    Justine Mules is a 27 year old 3 time premiership player.
    Ange Foley is a two time premiership vice-captain.

    Apparently – under the “black box” points system (no doubt closed so as to obscure incredulity), these three players COMBINED are not worth 28 points.

    So Adelaide does not retain a first round draft pick….

    In obtaining these three players port will get 3 “better than average players” (8 premierships between them) putting it modestly.

    Justine, it can be argued, is now in her “prime” – all else being equal her next season should be her best. She will have an on-field leadership in the midfield.
    Ange will be an on-field defensive-line-coach.

    Erin is a ready-made head-coach.
    She will function as an assistant coach off-field and an on-field forward-line coach.

    … however, all the above is not worth “28 points”.

    Which raises teh “questin”… is this a case of Adelaide penalised for being successful – or punished for not being a “victorian” club?

    Disgraceful. Shameful. Blatant.

Comments are closed.