The Gold Coast Suns have named their 'Team of the First Decade' ahead of QClash20 this weekend.

Current coach Stuart Dew, former coach Guy McKenna, record games holder Jarrod Harbrow, Brisbane great Alastair Lynch and senior sports journalist Mark Robinson made up the selection panel.

To little surprise, Gary Ablett junior was named as captain of the side, with David Swallow selected as his deputy.

GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - JULY 01: Gary Ablett and Steven May of the the Suns sing the team song after winning the round 15 the Gold Coast Suns and the North Melbourne Kangaroos at Metricon Stadium on July 1, 2017 in Gold Coast, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

Nine current players for the Suns were named, with Swallow, Sam Collins, Harbrow, Charlie Ballard, Touk Miller, Alex Sexton, Jarrod Witts, Sam Day and Lachie Weller all receiving honours.

Quartet Michael Rischitelli, Harley Bennell, Brandon Matera and Kade Kolodjashnij were the only former AFL players selected in the side.

Selection criteria for the team was set for players who have played at least 30 games for the Suns or have finished top three in the club's Best and Fairest count.

Gold Coast Suns Team of the Decade:

FB: Jarrod Harbrow, Steven May, Charlie Ballard
HB: Trent McKenzie, Sam Collins, Adam Saad
C: Touk Miller, Dion Prestia, Michael Rischitelli
HF: Alex Sexton, Charlie Dixon, Jack Martin
FF: Harley Bennell, Tom Lynch, Brandon Matera
Fol: Jarrod Witts, Gary Ablett (C), David Swallow (VC)
I/C: Sam Day, Kade Kolodjashnij, Jaeger O’Meara, Lachie Weller

In the same week as the club's first Team of the Decade, former Suns midfielder Michael Barlow named a satirical 21-man team named the 'GC Sunsets', featuring players that ventured to Gold Coast and may have spent some time in the reserves.

Joining Barlow in the side were the likes of Andrew Raines, Matt Rosa, Nathan Bock, Andrew McQualter, Jared Brennan, Karmichael Hunt and Daniel Harris.