Adelaide Crows logo

Adelaide has locked away young trio Tariek Newchurch, James Borlase and Patrick Parnell in a sign of their commitment to the future.

All three will remain on the rookie list, with Newchurch and Borlase to remain Category B rookies. Newchurch managed to bag 22 goals in an impressive season at SANFL level.

Adelaide General Manager List Management and Strategy Justin Reid said the future was very bright for all three young players.

“All three have taken big steps towards an AFL career this season,” Reid said.

“We are pleased with their development and are excited by what Tariek and James can produce next year with another AFL pre-season behind them, and in Patrick’s case after his first."

Borlase finished an impressive second in the Adelaide SANFL best and fairest award after a strong season at the reserve level.

The key defender slotted in terrifically and was able to have a regular impact on games from behind the footy.

The news comes off the back of the re-signings of Sam Berry, Brayden Cook and Luke Pedlar have all put pen to paper on deals that will keep them in the city of churches until the end of 2024.

Berry, Cook and Pedlar all had deals taking them through next year but the Crows moved quickly to extend their current contracts.