MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 28: Patrick Cripps of the Blues and Marcus Bontempelli of the Bulldogs are interviewed during the 2019 All Australian Awards at Palais Theatre on August 28, 2019 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Western Bulldogs great Brad Johnson has re-drafted the top 10 picks of the 2013 AFL draft on

In a class filled with midfield stars, Johnson has opted for the Western Bulldogs’ Marcus Bontempelli with the first overall selection over Carlton’s Patrick Cripps at pick 2. Is there a bit of bias from Johnson here?

“While Cripps carries his team on his shoulders every week – sometimes single-handedly getting the Blues over the line – it’s impossible to overlook everything Bontempelli achieved in 2016,” Johnson wrote.

“Winning a best and fairest in a premiership year is telling.

“And while Cripps’ numbers may look better on paper, everything the Bont touches turns to gold. He rarely, if ever, wastes a touch.

“That’s not to overlook everything the Carlton co-captain has achieved.”

Rounding out Johnson’s top three is GWS’ Josh Kelly, with the gun onballer “simply oozing class.”

Rounding out his top five is Hawthorn’s James Sicily and West Coast’s Dom Sheed, with the latter getting a bump due to his 2018 grand final heroics.

Perhaps Johnson’s most contentious pick is No. 6 – West Coast’s Tom Barrass, ahead of the likes of Zach Merrett (who Johnson has at pick 7) and Matt Crouch (pick 10).

Johnson apologised for excluding North Melbourne’s Ben Brown, Richmond’s Toby Nankervis, Brisbane’s Darcy Gardiner and Hawthorn’s Jarman Impey.

Only three players (Kelly, Bontempelli and Jack Billings) originally taken in the top 10 were included in Johnson’s re-draft.


1. Tom Boyd (GWS)

2. Josh Kelly (GWS)

3. Jack Billings (St Kilda)

4. Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)

5. Kade Kolodjashnij (Gold Coast)

6. Matthew Scharenberg (Collingwood)

7. James Aish (Brisbane)

8. Luke McDonald (North Melbourne)

9. Christian Salem (Melbourne)

10. Nathan Freeman (Collingwood)


1. Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)

2. Patrick Cripps (Carlton)

3. Josh Kelly (GWS)

4. James Sicily (Hawthorn)

5. Dom Sheed (West Coast)

6. Tom Barrass (West Coast)

7. Zach Merrett (Essendon)

8. Orazio Fantasia (Essendon)

9. Jack Billings (St Kilda)

10. Matt Crouch (Adelaide)