Geelong Cats logo

Joel Selwood will lead Geelong out for the eighth straight season in 2019, extending his record as the club’s longest serving captain.

Selwood has captained the club on 162 occasions, and will be joined in the leadership group with co-captains Mark Blicavs and Patrick Dangerfield.

Mitch Duncan, Harry Taylor and Zach Tuohy have also been named to the group once again, while defender Tom Stewart joins for the first time.

“The 2019 player leadership group represents a diverse group of players that each brings outstanding leadership qualities to the table,” Geelong’s general manager of football Simon Lloyd told the club’s website.

“Importantly the group display the values that we should all aspire towards. This group will consistently deliver and lead the group on what the Geelong Football Club stands for. In addition to the group, we have a number of experienced and senior players that will continue working with our younger players as they forge their AFL careers.

“We are fortunate to have so many strong leaders within our club and we are confident this group will deliver outstanding leadership at both a team and a club level.”