MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 29: Lance Franklin of the Swans looks on after being named captain during the 2018 AFL All-Australia Awards at the Palais Theatre on August 29, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Melbourne and Sydney great Gerard Healy has been added to the 2022 All-Australian selection panel.

The AFL announced an 11-person panel for the season in March, headlined by league chief executive Gillon McLachlan, former St Kilda captain Nick Riewoldt and 400-gamer Kevin Bartlett.

This year's panel also welcomed the additions of Nathan Buckley, Kane Cornes and Brad Scott, with Matthew Richardson and Warren Tredrea departing.

Speaking on 3AW this week, Healy revealed he too has joined the selection committee, returning after previously being part of the process.

“Yes, I am back,” Healy said.

“It’s no big deal and I’ve been on it many times, I was asked to do it for one year. I said ‘if you want my help, I’m happy to help, simple as that’.

“I’m back for one year.”

Embed from Getty Images

Healy brings with him 211 games of experience, which saw the former Demon and Swan collect a Brownlow Medal, three All-Australian selections and four best and fairest awards.

The 2022 All-Australian selection panel will include McLachlan (chairman), Bartlett, Jude Bolton, Buckley, Cornes, Andrew Dillon, Glen Jakovich, Chris Johnson, Cameron Ling, Riewoldt and Scott.

AFL National Talent Manager Kevin Sheehan is also part of the panel, however only holds a place in the voting for the Rising Star Award.